Winners announced as Aswan Int’l Women Film Festival concludes 7th edition

Eslam Omar , Saturday 11 Mar 2023

The seventh edition of the Aswan International Women's Film Festival (AIWFF) concluded on Friday, with the attendance of dozens of celebrities and filmmakers.

A shot from South Korean film Jeong-Sun that won The Best Film at the 7th Aswan International Women s Film Festival took place in Aswan, 5-10 MArch 2023

Best Feature Film went to South Korean film Jeong-Sun by director Jeong Ji-Hye, while French-Swiss film director Ursula Meier was named best director for The Line.

Best Actress went to Lucia Castro for her role in Paula, while German comedian Tedros Teclebrhan won Best Actor award for his role in Semret.

The AIWFF took place in Upper Egypt between 5 and 10 March, screening 61 films from 37 countries in its six competitions.

The jury of the main competition gave Special Mentions for Semret by Caterina Mona and Big Little Women by Nadia Fares.

Under the presidency of French director Julie Bertuccelli, the main jury included Egyptian actress Yasmine Raies, American designer Dana Schondelmeyer, Russian director Ksenia Okhapkina, and Egyptian film critic Magda Khairallah.

It Takes a Village by Ophelia Harutyunyan was named Best Short Film, while Big Little Women by Nadia Fares won the Euro-Mediterranean Award.

The Egyptian Film Critics Association Award went to My Love Affair with Marriage by Signe Baumane, while Big Little Women by Nadia Fares won Best Egyptian Film.

During this edition, the festival organisers paid tribute to Egyptian actress Nabila Ebeid, Egyptian media personality Dorria Sharaf El-Din, Spanish actress Cuca Escribano, Dutch director Mijke de Jong and Tunisian producer Salma Bakar.

It also hosted various workshops such as the New Aswan Cinema Project Programme, the Film Project Development Workshop, Screenwriting, Animation for Adults and Animation for Children.

Established in 2017, the AIWFF focuses on cinematic works representing women’s issues, celebrating their success stories and supporting female filmmakers in Egypt and the MENA region, as well as programming filmmaking workshops for the youth in the area.

Under the helm of president Mohamed Abdel-Khalek and director Hassan Abou El-Ela, the AIWFF is sponsored by many local and international entities.

The following are the award-winning films in the main categories.

Feature Film Competition Winner
The Assia Dagher Award for Best Film: Jeong-Sun by Jeong Ji-Hye
The Special Jury Rashida AbdelSalam Award: The Line by Ursula Meier
The Bahiga Hafez Award for Best Director: Ursula Meier for The Line
The Latifa El Zayat Award for Best Screenplay: My Relationship with Marriage by Signe Baumane
The Souad Hosny Award for Best Actress: Lucia Castro for her role in Paula
The Nadia Lotfy Award for Best Actor: Tedros Teclebrhan for his role in Semret
Special Mention: Semret by Caterina Mona
Special Mention: Big Little Women by Nadia Fares

Short Film Competition Winner
The Nabiha Lotfy Award for Best Short Film: It Takes a Village by Ophelia Harutyunyan
The Special Jury Nahed Nasrallah Award: VHS Tape Replaced by Maha al-Saati
Special Mention: A Day Off by Leonardo Bassil

Euro-Mediterranean Award for Best Film Discussing Women’s Issues
Big Little Women by Nadia Fares

Egyptian Film Critics Association Award (Samir Fareed Award):
My Love Affair with Marriage by Signe Baumane

Best Egyptian Film Award
Big Little Women by Nadia Fares

Films with Impact Competition
Best Film Award: Before Time by Suzy Fawzy
Best Subject Award: Start with Art by Mohanad Diab
Jury Award: The Bride by the #AIWFFWorkshops Team

Short link: