14 ministries and government entities have relocated to the New Administrative Capital

Ahram Online , Friday 5 May 2023

A total of 14 government ministries and entities have relocated to the New Administrative Capital (NAC), according to a statement released by Presidential Spokesperson Ahmed Fahmy on Thursday.

President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi heading the meeting with officials held at the NAC to follow its latest developments news on Thursday. Photo : Egyptina Presidency


This was reported in a meeting of President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi with Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly, Minister of Defence and Military Production Mohamed Zaki and other ministers, which was held at the Strategic Command Centre in the NAC.

Fahmy added that more ministries and government offices are preparing to move to the NAC in the near future.

During the meeting, President El-Sisi directed the government to continue moving offices to the NAC as part of the process of the comprehensive modernisation and digitisation of the country’s administrative system.

The construction of the new capital, which is located 60 km east of Downtown Cairo, started in 2015.

The NAC is being built on an area of 1.5 million square metres or twice the area of Cairo Governorate.

Once completed, it is expected to accommodate 6.5 million residents.

The government district in the NAC comprises 10 ministerial complexes, which will be home to 34 ministries, the Cabinet headquarters, the House of Representatives as well as the Senate.

When fully operational, the NAC will be home to 50,000 government employees.

Short link: