African Football League winner to earn $4 million: Statement

Mahmoud Elassal , Saturday 30 Sep 2023

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Saturday the prize money for the inaugural African Football League (AFL), with the winner set to receive $4 million as the highest reward in the continent's clubs competitions.

African Football League
African Football League


The highly anticipated continental tournament is scheduled to commence on 20 October 2023.

Earlier this month, the AFL organizing committee held a meeting with the eight participating teams to finalize the competition's details.

Following the discussions, an official breakdown of the prizes was released.

However, in today's statement there have been slight modifications to the prize amounts for the runner-up and the quarter-finalists.

The tournament's maiden edition will feature a home-and-away structure combined with a knockout system, with plans for future expansions.

Eight top-flight teams, including Egypt's Ahly, Tanzania's Simba, Angola's Petro Atletico, Nigeria's Enyimba, DR Congo's TP Mazembe, Morocco's Wydad Casablanca, Tunisia's Esperance, and South Africa's Mamelodi Sundowns, will be participating in the AFL.

The AFL semi-finals will take place from 29 October to 1 November with the championship final set for 5 and 11 November.

Prize Breakdown:
Winner: $4 million
Runner-up: $3 million
Semi-finalists: $1.7 million
Quarter-finalists: $1 million

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: