Last Update 16:11
Friday, 14 May 2021

Seven MPs announce their candidacy for Egypt's parliament speaker

Candidates for speaker allowed to give brief three-minute autobiography; voting underway

Ahram Online , Sunday 10 Jan 2016
Ali Abel-Al
Screenshot from State TV of MP Ali Abel-Al, a candidate for parliament speaker addressing the first parliament session on Sunday 10 January, 2016

Egyptian MPs listened to seven parliamentarians who introduced themselves after they announced they were running for parliament speaker.

The candidates are:

Aly Abdel-Al

Abdel-Al said he is a law professor at Ain Shams University who holds a PHD in law from Paris. He served on the 10-member committee which drafted the 2013 constitution which was later finalised by a 50-member body.

Aly El-Moselhy

El-Moselhy said he studied electronic engineering and works as a teacher.

His resume includes serving as an advisor to the ministry of communications and information technology, he said.

El-Moselhy was a member of former president Hosni Mubarak’s National Democratic Party and served as social solidarity minister under Mubarak.

Tawfik Okasha

A former parliamentarian, Okasha is a controversial media figure and owner of the Faraeen TV channel.

Kamal Ahmed Mohamed

Mohamed said he was a member of the Nasser's era Arab Socialist Union in his youth. He said he opposed the open-door policies of late president Anwar El-Sadat, and privatisation of the public sector.

Khaled Abu Taleb

The 32-year-old Abu Taleb is a lawyer and a member of the Lawyers Syndicate. He said he wanted to represent the youth as the parliament speaker.

Eid Heikal

Heikal, 56, said he worked in politics for over 30 years. He studied business in Ain Shams University, graduating in 1980. He also holds a law degree.

He explained his expertise allows him to navigate "law and numbers, legislation and budget."

Mohamed Mahmoud El-Etmany

El-Etmany said he became the head of the Lawyers Syndicate in Qalubiya governorate in 2012. He asserted that he participated in the 25 January 2011 revolution and the “corrective revolution” of 30 June 2013.

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.