President Sisi orders pilot operation of Safaa Hegazy Station on Cairo Metro’s Third Line

Nada Nader, Sunday 3 Jul 2022

President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi ordered on Sunday starting the pilot operation of the Safaa Hegazy Station that is located in Zamalek, which is among the first part of the third phase of Cairo Metro’s Third Line.

President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi and Transport Minister Kamel El-Wazir during the inauguration of LRT first phase on Sunday. Ahram


El-Sisi’s directives came after he inaugurated the first phase of Egypt’s light rail trial (LRT) on Sunday morning.

The first part of the third phase includes four stations — Gamal Abdel-Nasser in Downtown Cairo, Maspero, Safaa Hegazy in Zamalek, and Kit Kat in Imbaba —stretching over four kilometres.

The second part of the third phase will extend over an area of 6.6 kilometres from Kit Kat to Rod El-Farag Corridor, including six stations — Sudan Street, Imbaba, El-Bohy, Ring Road, and Rod El-Farag Corridor.

This part will be linked via the Ring Road station with a Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) system that will run through the 106-kilometer Ring Road, Minister of Transportation Kamel El-Wazir said during an inspection tour of the third phase worksite last month.

Meanwhile, the third and final part of phase three will extend over an area of 7.1 kilometres from Kit Kat to Cairo University, including five stations — El-Tawfiqiya, Wadi El-Nile, Gamaet El-Dowal, Cairo University, and Bulaq El-Dakrour.

Cairo Metro’s Third Line is planned to connect the New Administrative Capital’s (NAC) monorail at El-Estad Station in Nasr City and 6 of October City’s monorail at the Nile Valley Station.

The first and second phases of the third line were concluded in 2012 and 2013, respectively.

According to the Egyptian Cabinet’s estimates, after the completion of the third phase, the underground network will serve 3.5 million people daily.

El-Wazir added that Cairo Metro’s Third Line will link eastern and western Cairo after its completion, covering 17.7 kilometres through 15 stations (eight tunnel stations, five elevated stations, and two at-grade stations).

The third line will connect Greater Cairo with 6 October City, the NAC, and the eastern Cairo cities of Shorouk, Obour, and Mostaqbal.

The president inaugurated the LRT’s Adly Mansour Interchange Station with the Cairo Metro Third Line. The LRT’s first stage comprises 12 stations, including Adly Mansour, Badr City, the Culture and Arts City in the NAC, and New Obour

Egypt is currently building sustainable means of green mass transportation to run on electricity instead of diesel through projects like the LRT, monorail, and the high-speed electric train. It also aims to build a transportation network that could ease commuting and reduce traffic congestion in the capital.

Short link: