Justice ministry concludes relocation to New Administrative City

Ahram Online , Tuesday 4 Jul 2023

The second phase of relocation for Egyptian ministries to the New Administrative City (NAC) has been completed with the Ministry of Justice's full relocation along with all departments to the new capital on Tuesday.

ِThe New Captial s government district


The second phase of relocation that began in May included nineteen ministries, authorities and entities, including the Ministry of Justice, the Ministry of Agriculture, the Ministry of Health, and the Ministry of Supply and Internal Trade.

According to the Al-Ahram Arabic website, the Egyptian cabinet has now finished relocating all ministerial headquarters from Cairo to the NAC.

Seventeen government ministries and 11 government entities were involved in the first phase of relocation to Egypt’s New Administrative Capital, which spanned two months earlier this year.

They included the Ministry of Emigration and Egyptian Expatriate Affairs, the Ministry of Local Development, and the Central Agency for Organisation and Administration.

The construction of the new capital, located 60 km east of Downtown Cairo, started in 2015.

The NAC is being built on an area of 1.5 million square metres, or twice that of Cairo Governorate.

Once completed, it is expected to accommodate 6.5 million residents.

The government district of the NAC comprises ten ministerial complexes, which will be home to thirty-four ministries, the Cabinet headquarters, the House of Representatives as well as the Senate.

When fully operational, the NAC will be home to 50,000 government employees.

Short link: