Egypt's polls open for first stage of parliamentary election run-offs

Ahram Online , Tuesday 27 Oct 2015

Egyptian voters prepare to cast their votes at a polling station of the runoff to the first round of the parliamentary elections in Giza, just outside of Cairo, Egypt, Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2015 (AP)

Egypt has opened its polling stations to voters Tuesday at 9am for the run-offs of the first stage of parliamentary elections.

The polls will remain open until 9pm and will reopen Wednesday morning for the second day of run-offs.

Voting is taking place in 14 governorates: Alexandria, Giza, Minya, Assiut, Beni Suef, Marsa Matrouh, Qena, Luxor, Aswan, Beheira and Rea Sea, Fayoum, New Valley, and Sohag.

Schools will be closed for election run-offs in some of the constituencies of the 14 governorates.

Only four seats, out of 226 in 103 constituencies, were elected on an individual basis in the voting on 18-19 October.

The four candidates won outright, as they secured over 50 percent of the votes in their constituencies.

Ballots for 13 individual seats will be re-held after a court ruled the results void. The seats include four in Damanhour, seven in Alexandria, and five in Beni Suef.

The results were ruled invalid after the candidates were found to be ineligible to run.

The remaining 206 individual seats will be filled via the run-offs this week, with the two highest-polling candidates per seat competing for the most votes.

The 60 seats elected, according to electoral list candidates, have all been secured by "For the Love of Egypt" list with 45 seats in ‎Giza and Upper Egypt and 15 seats in West Delta constituencies.

Egyptians abroad started voting on Monday, with unofficial estimates setting the number of those who voted at 4,000.

The second stage of voting for the remaining 13 governorates will take place late November. 

Egypt is due to have a parliament early December, after the 2011 parliament was dissolved in June 2012 due to the unconstitutionality of an election law.

Egypt's parliament — the House of Representatives — ‎will be comprised of 596 members, 448 elected as independents ‎and 120 from party-based lists. The remaining 28 seats ‎will be filled by presidential appointees.

Short link: