Egypt's Republican People's Party officially joins pro-Sisi parliamentary bloc

Ahram Online , Saturday 26 Dec 2015

The Republican People's Party is mainly composed of former ministers supported by former presidential candidate Amr Moussa

Egyptian parliament in Cairo
A worker cleans the table of the Egyptian parliament in Cairo January 22, 2012 (Photo: Reuters)

Republican People's Party officially joined on Saturday a coalition supporting Egypt President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi, the Support Egypt bloc, currently being formed in the country's new parliament, a statement by the party read. 

The Republican People's Party, which is mainly composed of former ministers, has secured 13 seats in Egypt's 2015 parliament. 

"The revised bill issued by the coalition has taken into consideration our recommendations and responded to the suggestions made by the party," the statement read. 

The party also explained that they have postponed the decision to join the coalition until they see the amended document of agreement issued by the Support Egypt bloc.

The Support Egypt bloc, headed by former intelligence officer Sameh Seif El-Yazel, has been seeking to recruit a sweeping number of parliamentarians to its ranks.

The bloc consists of over 400 parliamentarians from various political parties as well as independents, according to its members. A final tally of the bloc's list has not yet been announced.

The liberal Free Egyptians Party, which scored the highest number of parliamentary spots with 65 seats, refused to join the Support Egypt bloc, saying that it had “unclear aims.”

Egypt’s right-of-centre Wafd Party also announced last week that they would not join the coalition. 

Meanwhile, the Future of Homeland Party, who won 50 party-based seats, the second largest number won in the elections, said it will return to the pro-Sisi coalition after initially declaring that it would withdraw.

Egypt's parliament is expected to be sworn in by the end of December, and will be composed of the highest number of MPs in the country’s 150-year parliamentary history.

The MPs are divided into 448 independents, 120 party-based deputies, and 28 presidential appointees.

Short link: