Egypt warns citizens against travelling to 7 Ebola-stricken countries

Ahram Online, MENA, Saturday 18 Oct 2014

Egypt, so far Ebola-free, issues a travel warning encompassing seven countries showing incidence of the virus

A woman wears protective clothing at one of one of the Ebola Centers in Harare, Zimbabwe Tuesday, Sept. 23, 2014 (Photo: AP)

Egypt's foreign ministry issued travel warnings Saturday for seven Ebola-stricken countries, reported state news agency MENA, as the virus continues to stir fears worldwide.

The countries are Guinea, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Angola, Côte d'Ivoire, Togo and Senegal. So far, Egypt remains Ebola free.

According to the latest World Health Organisation figures, the virus has been found to kill 70 percent of those infected. So far, 4,500 people have died in West Africa.

The first two cases of the virus appeared at the same time in Sudan and Congo in 1976. The case in Congo was near the Ebola River, from which the virus took its name.

The incubation period for the disease is from two to 21 days. Patients are only infectious when they start to show symptoms.

Initial symptoms include fever, muscle pain, headaches and sore throat. This is followed by vomiting, diarrhoea, rashes, symptoms of impaired kidney and liver function, and in some cases both internal and external bleeding.

Testing is currently underway to develop a vaccine for the virus.

Short link: