Egypt's president Sisi swears in 10 new ministers in cabinet reshuffle

Ahram Online , Wednesday 23 Mar 2016

Egypt's president Sisi swears in 10 new ministers in cabinet reshuffle (Al-Ahram)

Ten new Egyptian ministers were sworn in on Wednesday by President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi as part of a limited cabinet reshuffle.

Judge Hossam Abdel Reheem was appointed justice minister, replacing sacked minister Ahmed El-Zend.

Dalia Khorshed was appointed as investment minister replacing Ashraf Salman and Amr El Garhy replaced finance minister Hany Kadry Dimian.

Ashraf El-Sharqawy was appointed as business sector minister, while Mohamed Saafan replaced manpower minister Gamal Sorour. 

Mohamed Abdel-Atty was appointed as irrigation minister replacing Hossam Moghazi. 

Mohamed Yehia Rashed took the place of tourism minister Hisham Zaazou, and Khaled El-Anany is the now antiquities minister, replacing Mamdouh El-Damaty. 

Galal El-Saeed has replaced Saad El-Geyoushi as transportation minister and Sherif Fathy has taken Hossam Kamal's place as civil aviation minister.

The partial change in the cabinet comes four days before Prime Minister Sherif Ismail is scheduled to deliver the government's programme to parliament.

On Monday, Prime Minister Sherif Ismail met with El-Sisi to finalise candidates for the reshuffle. 

Ismail had been interviewing potential candidates for the ministerial posts throughout the last two weeks.

Short link: