Egyptian prime minister appoints six new provincial governors

Ahram Online , Wednesday 7 Sep 2016

Sherif Ismail
File photo of Egypt's Prime Minister Sherif Ismail (AP)

Egypt's prime minister announced on Wednesday the appointment of six new provincial governors for governorates including the capital Cairo and the coastal governorate of Alexandria, state news agency MENA reported.

An informed government source told Al-Ahram Arabic news website that the six governorates are Qalyoubiya, Minya, Fayoum and Suez in addition to Alexandria and Cairo, adding that the new governors are to be sworn in by President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi later on Wednesday.

The premier revealed that the new Cairo governor is Atef Abdel-Hamid, Egypt’s former minister of transportation under Essam Sharaf's government in 2011. The new Alexandria's governor is Reda Farahat, and the new Qalyoubiya governor is former military man Amr Abdel-Moneim, who is currently the cabinet's secretary-general.

Search Keywords:
Short link: