Four Arab countries to boycott meetings of Inter-Parliamentary Union in Qatar

Gamal Essam El-Din , Thursday 4 Apr 2019

The four countries said they had informed the Geneva-based Union that they object that the 140th round of its general assembly meetings will be held in Qatar

Arab countries
File photo: meeting between foreign ministers of Egypt, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Bahrain in New York, September 18, 2017 (Photo: Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

Four Arab countries – Egypt, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Bahrain – said in a statement on Thursday that they have officially informed the Geneva-based Inter-Parliamentary Union that they object to the 140th round of its general assembly meetings being held in Doha, the capital of Qatar, between 6 and 10 April.

"When the 139th round was held in 2018, the four countries had objected that the next 140th round will be held in Qatar," said the statement, adding that if things go as planned, “the four countries will boycott the meetings of the 140th round.”

The statement urged the state of Qatar to stop funding terrorism and terrorist movements and interfering with the internal affairs of countries in the region. 

The statement of the four countries, which have decided to boycott Qatar since June 2017, said that the Qatari regime has not stopped funding terrorist movements and causing unrest and troubles throughout the region.

"As long as the policies of the Qatari regime continue to support terrorist and extremist movements with money, and show no response to the just demands of the four countries on funding terrorists and meddling with the internal affairs of the countries of the region, they have decided to boycott the 140th round of the meetings of the general assembly of the Inter-Parliamentary Union in Geneva," said the statement.  

Short link: