Nobel laureates among Al-Adl Party's candidates for constituent assembly

Ahram Online, Wednesday 21 Mar 2012

Liberal Al-Adl Party nominates Nobel Prize winners ElBaradei and Zewail for committee tasked with writing Egypt's new constitution

Mohamed ElBaradei, Ahmed Zeweil, Alaa ElAswany

The liberal Al-Adl Party has presented its nominees for the constituent assembly which will draft Egypt's new constitution.

The 25-name list includes a host of political and intellectual heavyweights including, former International Atomic Energy Agency chief and Nobel Peace Prize winner Mohamed ElBaradei; Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry Ahmed Zewail; author Galal Amin; Judge Noha El-Zeiny; head of the National Association of Change Abdel Galeel Mustafa; writer and thinker Samir Morcos; poet Abdel Rahman Youssef; legal expert Hossam Eissa; writer Alaa Al-Aswany, and activist George Ishak.

Parliament began receiving nominations last week and the deadline is Wednesday at 2pm.

The assembly will be made up of 50 members of the People’s Assembly and Shura Council, and 50 experts and public figures from outside parliament.

Egypt’s 1971 constitution was dissolved shortly after President Mubarak was removed from power.

Short link: