Egypt's Mostaqbal Watan party dominates the leading posts of parliament's 25 committees

Gamal Essam El-Din , Thursday 14 Jan 2021

Senior officials of the pro-government party, Mostaqbal Watan, were elected as chairmen of 18 parliamentary committees on Thursday

Egypt Parliament
Mostaqbal Watan party swept the elections for the leading posts of the parliament's 25 committees on Thursday PHOTO: Khaled Mashaal

Semi-official results show that the pro-government Mostaqbal Watan (the Nation's Future) party has dominated the election of the leading posts of the Egyptian parliament's 25 committees on Thursday. 

Mostaqbal Watan swept Egypt's parliamentary elections, held between October and December 2020, gaining a majority of 316 seats (54 per cent) out of a total 596.

Mostaqbal Watan swept the elections for the leading posts of the parliament's 25 committees on Thursday.

To follow is a complete list of the names of Mostaqbal Watan MPs who were elected chairmen of 18 parliamentary committees: 

The Sports and Youth Committee: Mahmoud Hussein

The Social Solidarity Committee: Abdel-Hadi El-Qasabi

The Education Committee: Sami Hashem

The Labour Force Committee: Adel Abdel-Fadil

The Complaints and Proposals Committee: Atef Nasser

The Tourism and Civil Aviation Committee: Nora Ali

The Agriculture and Irrigation Committee: Hesham El-Hosary

The Energy and Environment Committee: Hossam El-Din Saleh

The Telecommunications and Information Technology Committee: Ahmed Badawi

The Housing Committee: Adel Saad Hammouda

The Transport Committee: Alaa Abed

The Economic Affairs Committee: Ahmed Samir

The Small-scale Enterprises Committee: Mohamed Kamal Marie

The Human Rights Committee: Tarek Radwan

The Foreign Affairs Committee: Karim Darwish

The Health Affairs Committee: Ashraf Hatem

The Local Administration Committee: Ahmed El-Signi

The Arab Affairs Committee: Youssri El-Moghazi

The results also show that five public figures appointed by President Abdel-Fatah El-Sisi were elected chairmen of parliamentary committees. They are as follows: 

The Labour Force Committee: Adel Abdel-Fadil

The Religious Affairs Committee: Ali Gomaa

The Budget and Plan Committee: Fakhry El-Fiqi

The Culture, Media and Antiquities Committee: Doreya Sharafeddin

The Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee: Ibrahim El-Heneidi 

Results also show that two MPs, one independent and one affiliated with the opposition Egyptian Freedom Party were elected chairmen of two committees as follows: 

The African Affairs Committee: Independent Businessman Sherif El-Gabali

The Industrial Committee:  Businessman and Head of the Egyptian Freedom party Moataz Mohamed Mahmoud 

The Mostaqbal Watan party's MPs Ahmed Saadeddin and Mohamed Abul-Enein were elected deputy speakers on Tuesday. 

Speaker of Egypt's new parliament Hanafi Gibali was nominated as a party list candidate in Upper Egypt. The list was fielded by Mostaqbal Watan party.

Short link: