Egypt's Mostaqbal Watan party maintains majority for leading posts of parliament's 25 committees

Gamal Essam El-Din , Sunday 3 Oct 2021

Semi-official results on Sunday show that the pro-government Mostaqbal Watan (the Nation’s Future) party dominated the elections for the leading posts within the Egyptian Parliament’s 25 committees.


Mostaqbal Watan is Egypt’s parliamentary majority party, controlling 316 seats (54 percent) out of a total of 596.

Parliament Speaker Hanafy Gebaly told MPs in a plenary session on Monday that “according to the parliament’s internal bylaws, MPs should meet at the beginning of each parliamentary session to elect the senior members of the House’s 25 committees.”

Each MP should elect a head, two deputies, and one secretary-general.

Gebaly indicated that the polls would be held under the supervision of the House’s two Deputy Speakers: Ahmed Saad El-Din and Mohamed Abu El-Enein.

He also indicated that no complaints were filed against the results of the elections.

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Alaa Fouad said the government vows to fully cooperate with the House of Representatives to achieve the people’s aspirations and implement development programmes.

To follow is a complete list of the names of Mostaqbal Watan MPs who were elected as chairmen of 17 parliamentary committees: 

The Sports and Youth Committee: Mahmoud Hussein.

The Social Solidarity Committee: Abdel-Hadi El-Qasabi.

The Education Committee: Sami Hashem.

The Complaints and Proposals Committee: Atef Nasser.

The Tourism and Civil Aviation Committee: Nora Ali.

The Agriculture and Irrigation Committee: Hesham El-Hosary.

The Energy and Environment Committee: Hossam El-Din Saleh.

The Telecommunications and Information Technology Committee: Ahmed Badawi.

The Housing Committee: Emad Saad Hammouda.

The Transportation Committee: Alaa Abed.

The Economic Affairs Committee: Ahmed Samir.

The Small-scale Enterprises Committee: Mohamed Kamal Marie.

The Human Rights Committee: Tarek Radwan.

The Foreign Affairs Committee: Karim Darwish.

The Health Affairs Committee: Ashraf Hatem.

The Local Administration Committee: Ahmed El-Signi.

The Arab Affairs Committee: Youssri El-Moghazi.

The results also show that five public figures appointed by President Abdel-Fatah El-Sisi were elected as chairmen of parliamentary committees as well; and those are: 

The Labour Force Committee: Adel Abdel-Fadil.

The Religious Affairs Committee: Ali Gomaa.

The Budget and Planning Committee: Fakhry El-Fiqi.

The Culture, Media, and Antiquities Committee: Doreya Sharaf El-Din.

The Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee: Ibrahim El-Heneidi.

Results also show that three MPs, one independent, one affiliated with the opposition Egyptian Freedom Party, and one with the Guardians of the Nation party, were elected chairmen of three committees, which include:

The African Affairs Committee: Sherif El-Gabaly

The Industrial Committee: Head of the Egyptian Freedom party Moataz Mohamed Mahmoud.

The Defence and National Security Committee: the retired army major-general and member of the Guardians of the Nation Party Ahmed El-Awadi.

Short link: