Egypt's newly-appointed cabinet ministers to be sworn in on Sunday

Gamal Essam El-Din , Saturday 13 Aug 2022

The newly appointed cabinet ministers – who were approved by the House of Representatives in an extraordinary meeting Saturday – are expected to be sworn in on Sunday

Mohamed Mostafa Esmat   Ahmed Samir
Combined images of (from L to R) Mahmoud Mostafa Esmat the new Minister of Public Enterprise and Ahmed Samir the new Minister of Industry and Trade.


One of the major features of the new cabinet reshuffle is that President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi decided to keep the so-called economic group ministers in place.

Only two ministers responsible for economic portfolios were changed. These first was Hesham Tawfik, minister of public enterprise, who was replaced by Mahmoud Mostafa Kamal Esmat who was board chairman of El-Kahira Company for Glass Manufacturing.

The second was Nevine Gamea, minister of industry and trade, was replaced by Ahmed Samir, chairperson of the house's Economic Affairs Committee since 2017.

The make-up of the so-called "economic group" cabinet ministers now goes as follows:

- Mostafa Madbouly: Prime minister and head of the group
- Hala El-Said: Minister of planning and economic development
- Mohamed Maait: Minister of finance
- Ali Moselhi: Minister of supply and internal trade
- Rania Al-Mashat: Minister of international cooperation
- Ahmed Samir: Minister of industry and trade (instead of Nevine Gamae)
- Mahmoud Mostafa Esmat: Minister of public enterprise (instead of Hesham Tawfik).

The two ministers of finance and planning are directly responsible for ongoing negotiations with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to secure a new loan to help shore up the country's public finances, which were badly affected by the war in Ukraine.

According to Article 146 of Egypt's 2014 constitution, the president of the republic, after consultation with the cabinet, is authorised to name four ministers in charge of what is called "sovereign portfolios."

The four sovereign cabinet ministers kept in place are:

- Minister of Defence Mohamed Zaki (since 2018)
- Minister of Interior Mahmoud Tawfik (since 2018) 
- Minister of Foreign Affairs Sameh Shoukry (since 2014)
- Minister of Justice Omar Marwan (since 2019)
El-Sisi's statement

In a tweet on Saturday morning, President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi explained that after consulting with the Council of Ministers he had decided to summon the House of Representatives to hold an extraordinary meeting on Saturday morning to look into the reshuffling of some cabinet portfolios.

The changes to these important files at the local and foreign levels were made in order to better protect the interests of the state and directly lead to a concrete improvement in services offered to Egyptian citizens.

Reshuffle of provincial governors

Speculation is now rife that there will be a reshuffle of the 27 provincial governors very soon, as is typical after each cabinet reshuffle. The president is not obliged to summon the house to hold an extraordinary session to discuss and vote on the reshuffling.

One of the provincial governors – the governor of Beheira, Hesham Abdel-Ghani Amina – was named as the new minister of local development.

Make-up of the new cabinet

The newly-reshuffled government of Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly now includes 33 cabinet ministers as follows (newly appointed ministers are italicised):

1- Mostafa Madbouly: Prime minister
2- Mohamed Shaker: Minister of electricity and renewable energy
3- El-Sayed El-Quseir: Minister of agriculture and land reclamation
4- Mohamed Mokhtar Gomaa: Minister of religious affairs and wakfs (religious endowments)
5- Mohamed Zaki: Minister of defence
6- Mahmoud Tawfik: Minister of interior
7- Khaled Abdel-Ghaffar: Minister of health and population
8- Sameh Shoukry: Minister of foreign affairs
9- Mohamed Maait: Minister of finance
10- Ali Moselhi: Minister of supply and internal trade
11- Hala El-Said: Minister of planning and economic development
12- Mohamed Salaheddin: Minister of state for military production
13- Ahmed Eissa Taha Eissa: Minister of tourism and antiquities

14- Yasmine Fouad: Minister of environment
15- Hesham Abdel-Ghani Amna: Minister of local development
16- Hani Suweilam: Minister of irrigation and water resources

17-Amr Talaat: Minister of telecommunications and information technology
18- Nevine El-Kilani: Minister of culture
19- Nevine El-Qabbaj: Minister of social solidarity
20- Hassan Shehata: Minister of manpower and immigration
21- Soha Samir: Minister of emigration and expatriates affairs
22- Mohamed Abbas: Minister of civil aviation

23- Kamel El-Wazir: Minister of transport
24- Ahmed Samir Saleh: Minister of industry and trade
25- Mahmoud Mostafa Esmat: Minister of public enterprise
26- Reda Hegazi: Minister of education and technical education
27- Mohamed Ayman Ashour: Minister of higher education and scientific research

28- Assem El-Gazzar: Minister of housing, utilities and urban development
29- Tarek El-Molla: Minister of petroleum and mineral resources
30- Ashraf Sobhy: Minister of youth and sports
31- Omar Marwan: Minister of justice
32- Rania Al-Mashat: Minister of international cooperation
33- Alaaeddin Fouad: Minister of state for parliamentary affairs

Short link: