Egypt’s Senate to hold opening procedural meeting on Tuesday

Gamal Essam El-Din , Monday 3 Oct 2022

Following a two-month summer recess, the Senate – Egypt's consultative upper house – will open Tuesday the third session of its five-year term.

Egypt s Senate . Al-Ahram


The session will kick off with Speaker Abdel-Wahab Abdel-Razek reading President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi's decree on 26 September, inviting the Senate to reconvene on 4 October.

Abdel-Razek will also deliver a statement in which he will urge senators to coordinate closely with MPs in the House of Representatives in the area of legislations that are necessary to contain the negative impact on Egypt of the war in Ukraine.

Abdel-Razek will also congratulate senators on the occasion of the 49th anniversary of the 1973 October War on Thursday and the anniversary of the birth of Prophet Muhammad on Saturday.

On Wednesday, the 180-member Senate will hold three procedural meetings to open the door for MPs to join the chamber's 14 committees and elect boards of these committees. Each senator is required to elect one chairman, two deputies and one secretary-general for each committee.

Deputy Senate Speaker Bahaaeddin Abu Shoqa told reporters on Monday that the Senate will have a busy legislative agenda in its new 2022/23 season.

"As the national dialogue proposed by President El-Sisi last April is expected to be held next month, we could see amendments to a raft of political laws recommended by this dialogue finding their way to the Senate in the new 2022/23 season," said Abu Shoqa.

According to Article 249 of the constitution, the Senate shall be empowered to discuss amendments to the constitution, the annual socio-economic development plan, Egypt's peace and alliance treaties with foreign countries and draft laws and other general policy issues which are referred by the president.

The Senate's 14 committees which will be a matter of election on Wednesday are:

The Legislative and Constitutional Affairs Committee

The Financial, Economic and Investment Affairs Committee

The Foreign, Arab and African Affairs Committee

The Defence and National Security Committee

The Industry, Trade, and Small and Medium-Scale Enterprises Committee

The Energy, Environment and Labour Force Committee

The Housing, Local Administration and Transport Committee

The Education, Scientific Research, Telecommunications and Information Technology Committee

The Youth and Sports Committee

The Health and Population Committee

The Agriculture, Irrigation and Water Resources Committee

The Human Rights and Social Solidarity Committee

The Culture, Tourism and Media Committee

The Religious and Wakfs (Endowments) Affairs Committee

Short link: