National dialogue's board of trustees to discuss action plans, agendas Monday

Habiba Hamdy , Sunday 9 Oct 2022

The National Dialogue's Board of Trustees is set to resume its preparatory meetings on Monday with rapporteurs and assistant rapporteurs for all tracks of the presidential initiatives.

Diaa Rashwan
File photo: Head of Journalists Syndicate and Coordinator of Egypt s National Dialogue Diaa Rashwan speaks during the dialogue s board of trustees second meeting on Tuesday 19 July, 2022.


The two meetings are scheduled to address action plans and agendas proposed by rapporteurs and assistant rapporteurs for the actual start of the discussion sessions of the national dialogue, said General Coordinator of the National Dialogue Diaa Rashwan on Sunday.

Over the past two months, the 19-member of the board of trustees held eight meetings during which it completed its selection of rapporteurs and assistant rapporteurs for the dialogue's three main tracks (political, economic, social) and their 19 subcommittees.

In late September, Rashwan said the dialogue would officially kick off within a few weeks.

Whenever a subcommittee finishes discussing a particular track and makes recommendations it will present them to the dialogue’s board to be sent to the President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi for a final say, according to Rashwan.

President El-Sisi called for the initiative during the annual Egyptian Family Iftar banquet on 26 April, asserting that all intellectuals, syndicates and political forces are invited to the dialogue.

The president assured that only one faction is exempted from the dialogue, in reference to the Muslim Brotherhood group, which Egypt designated a terrorist organisation in 2013.

The national dialogue, he added, will not only discuss pressing political, economic and social issues like high prices, education and public freedoms, but also properly analyse them to find appropriate solutions, the general coordinator has repeatedly asserted.

The dialogue's political track includes five subcommittees: the exercise of political rights and the parliamentary representation, the municipalities, the human rights and public freedoms, the political parties, the civil society and syndicates.

The economic track includes eight committees, namely the inflation and high prices, the public debt, budget deficit and financial reform, the public investments priorities and state ownership policy, the private investment (domestic and foreign), the industry, the agriculture and food security, the social justice and finally the tourism.

The social track also includes six subcommittees: the education and scientific research, the health, the housing, the social cohesion, the culture and national identity, and the youth.

Short link: