Meet Hisham Qandil's new Egypt cabinet

Ahram Online, Thursday 2 Aug 2012

Ahram Online publishes the full list of Egypt's first government under President Mohamed Morsi

Egypt's new cabinet (Photo: Al-Ahram)

This list below is in alphabetical order according to the ministry. 

1. Minister of Agriculture and Land Cultivation: Salah Abdel-Mo'men, head of the Agricultural Research Centre

2. Minister of Antiquities: Mohamed Ibrahim – retaining seat from Ganzouri's cabinet;  worked for Egypt’s Supreme Council of Antiquities at the Saqqara and Giza Necropolis archaeological sites; former professor of archaeology at Ain Shams University

3. Minister of Communication: engineer Hani Mahmoud; head of the Information and Decisions Support Centre of the cabinet

4. Minister of Civil Aviation: Samir Imbabi, former adviser to the minister of civil aviation. 

5. Minister of Culture: Saber Arab – served as minister of culture for a couple of months in Ganzouri's cabinet; former Chairman of the National Library and Archives of Egypt

6. Minister of Defence: Hussein Tantawi – head of the Supreme Council of Armed Forces (SCAF). He has served as defence minister since 1991, under seven different governments

7. Minister of Drinking Water and Sewage: Abdel-Qawi Khalifa – governor of Cairo since April 2011; previously CEO of the Holding Company for Drinking Water and Sanitation before

8. Minister of Education: Ibrahim Ahmed Ghonim – vice-president of Suez Canal University

9. Minister of Electricity and Energy: Mahmoud Balbaa – head of the Egyptian Electric Holding Company

10. Minister of Environment: Khaled Abdel Aziz – aassistant professor in the National Institute of Planning in The Economic Forecast Center 2004-2011; now an advisor to the Center

11. Minister of Finance: Momtaz El-Saeed – deputy finance minister in Essam Sharaf government; spent career working on state budgets; retaining seat from Ganzouri's cabinet

12. Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mohammed Kamel Amr, retaining seat from Ganzouri's Cabinet

13. Minister of Health: Mohamed Hamed Mostafa – professor of medicine at Cairo University

14. Minister Higher Education: Mostafa Mosaad – engineering professor; was responsible for the educational policy of Morsi's presidential campaign

15. Minister of Housing: Tarek Wafiq – engineer; head of the housing committee within the Freedom and Justice Party

16. Minister of Information: Salah Abdel Maqsood – journalist; prominent Muslim Brotherhood figure, and longstanding member of the board of the Journalists' Syndicate

17. Minister of Interior: General Ahmed Gamal El-Din – assistant of former interior minister; director of the Public Security Authority

18. Minister of Insurance and Social Affairs: Nagwa Khalil – retaining seat from Ganzouri's cabinet; previously held position at the National Centre for Social and Criminological Research; was member of the fact-finding committee that was mandated with investigating the violent events that occurred during the January uprising

19. Minister of Investment: Osama Saleh – chairman of Egypt's General Authority for Free Zones and Investment (GAFI)

20. Minister of Justice: Judge Ahmed Mekky – prominent reformist judge; former vice-president of Egypt's Court of Appeal

21. Minister of Local Development: Ahmed Zaki Abdeen – governor of Kafr Al-Sheikh; governor of Beni Suef in 2006; worked as engineer officer in Egypt's Armed Forces

22. Minister of Manpower: Khaled El-Azhary – leading member of the Brotherhood's FJP; MP of the now dissolved parliament; active trade unionist appointed to the board of Egypt's Trade Unions Federation after the fall of Mubarak

23. Minister of Military Production: Aly Sabry – held this post Essam Sharaf and Kamal El-Ganzouri's cabinets.

24. Minister of Parliamentary Affairs: Mohamed Mahsoub – board member of the centrist Al-Wasat Party; member of the Constituent Assembly

25. Minister of Petroleum: Osama Kamal – chairman of the Egyptian Petrochemicals Holding Company which belongs to petroleum ministry

26. Minister of Planning and International Cooperation: Ashraf El-Araby – former head of the technical office of minister of planning under long-serving Faiza Abul Naga

27. Minister of Religious Endowments - Awqaf: Osama El-Abd – vice chancellor of Al-Azhar University

28. Minister of Scientific Research: Nadia Zakhary – retaining seat from Ganzouri's cabinet; professor of biochemistry and tumour biology at Egypt’s National Cancer Institute

29. Minister of Sports: El Amry Farouk – businessman; member of the famous Ahly Club board.  NDP  cadidate for 2010 parliamentary elections.   

30. Minister of Supply and Social Affairs: Mohamed Abou-Zeid – vice president of state-owned Food Industries Holding company

31. Minister of Tourism: Hisham Zaezou – served as minister of tourism in the 1990s; senior assistant to tourism minister Mounir Fakhry Abdel-Nour in Essam Sharaf's government; head of the Egyptian Tourism Federation 2004-2007.

32. Minister of Trade and Industry: Hatem Saleh – CEO of Gozour food industry group, a subsidiary of Citadel Capital; deputy head of El-Hadara Party formed after the January 25 revolution by a number of reformist leading members of the Muslim Brotherhood leading members

33. Minister of Transport: Mohamed Rashad – engineering professor at Cairo University

34. Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation: Mohamed Bahaa El-Din Saad – former head of the irrigation authority; assigned in 2007 as the general coordinator of the national plan for water resources and irrigation project

35. Minister of Youth: Osama Yassin – member of FJP executive office; member of the now dissolved parliament

Short link: