Prosecutor-general bans 26 Mubarak-era figures from travel

Ahram Online, Saturday 29 Dec 2012

The jailed ousted president, his family, 4 ex-chairmen of Al-Ahram news organisation, multiple former ministers are among 26 figures that have been banned from travel

(Clockwise) Alaa Mubarak (elder son), Hosni Mubarak and Gamal Mubarak (Photo: Al-Ahram)

Egypt's prosecutor-general, Talaat Abdullah, imposed a travel ban on Saturday on former President Hosni Mubarak, his wife Suzanne Thabet, his sons Alaa and Gamal and his step-daughters, among 26 figures belonging to the former regime.

The list of those banned from leaving the country includes Mubarak-era minister of legal affairs and parliamentary councils, Mofid Shehab;  former health minister, Hatem El-Gebali; and former chairman of the state-owned Al-Ahram news organisation, Ibrahim Nafee, who led the organisation from from 1984 till 2005.

Hassan Yassin, the spokesperson of the general prosecution, said former Al-Ahram chairman Nafee authorised costly gifts from the organisation to former regime figures, a practice that remained in place from 1984 till the outbreak of the January 25 Revolution in 2011.

"Posh watches, golden pens, golden coins, ties, diamond jewelries, leather bags and belts were among the gifts," Yassin said, according to Al-Ahram's Arabic-language news website.

Nafee's successors Morsi Attallah, Abdel Monem El-Saied and Salah El-Ghamri have also been banned from leaving the country on the same grounds.

Al-Ahram's gifts from 2006 till 2011 are estimated at LE50 million.

Investigations indicated Mubarak alone received seven million Egyptian pounds worth of presents from Al-Ahram from 2006 till 2011.

Mubarak is currently serving a life sentence for failing to protect peaceful protesters during the January 25 Revolution.

His sons, Alaa and Gamal, remain in custody on charges of corruption.  Haidy Magdy and Khadiga El-Gamal, the wives of Alaa and Gamal respectively, are not detained, neither is Suzanne Thabet.

The list of the figures banned from traveling on various corruption accusations include former prime minister, Ahmed Nazif; former presidential chief of staff, Zakaria Azmi; ex-Shura Council (parliament's upper chamber) head, Safwat El-Sherif; former People's Assembly chairman (parliament's lower chamber), Fathi Sorour.

Former finance minister,Youssef Boutros Ghali (at large), former interior minister, Habib El-Adly (serving sentences for role in murder of protesters), and the former chief editor of the state-owned Rose El-Youssef's news organisation, Abdallah Kamal made the list.

The travel ban also covers: former secretary general of People's Assembly, Sami Mahran; ex-chairman of state-owned Al-Akhbar news organisation, Mohamed Fadly; former secretary-general of cabinet, Sami Saad Zaghloul; ex-head of the office of People's Assembly's chairman, Yossri Mohamed Zaki; former Mubarak's personal secretary, Mahmoud Abul-Wafa.

Short link: