Egypt's new ministers take oath of office

Ahram Online , Tuesday 7 May 2013

Nine new cabinet ministers swear oath of office in front of President Mohamed Morsi on Tuesday

Egypt's nine new ministers swore their oath of office in front of President Mohamed Morsi on Tuesday morning. Also in attendance were Prime Minister Hisham Qandil and Morsi's Chief of Staff Rifaa El-Tahtawi.

The new ministers are: Minister of Justice Judge Mohamed Ahmed Soliman, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Judge Hatem Abdullah Bagato, Minister of Petroleum Sherif Hassan Ramadan, Minister of Agriculture Ahmed Mahmoud Ali El-Gizawi, Minister of Finance Fayad Abdel-Moneim Hassanein Ibrahim, Minister of Planning and International Cooperation Ahmed Mohamed Amr Darrag, Minister of Culture Alaa Abdel-Aziz El-Sayed Abdel-Fattah, Minister of Investment Yehia Hamed Abdel-Samie Hamed.

"This was not the reshuffle Egyptians had called for," liberal Free Egyptians Party spokesperson Shehab Wagih told Al-Ahram Arabic news website.

It is only camouflage while those who really dictate how things are run behind the scenes are those who will continue to be in control, he added.

Wagih said the Muslim Brotherhood's second-in-command Khairat El-Shater and Brotherhood businessman Hassan Malek are really in charge of the economic portfolio, and Morsi's foreign policy advisor Essam El-Haddad is really in charge of the foreign affairs portfolio.

Short link: