Prime Minister Sharaf names the bulk of new cabinet

Ahram Online, Sunday 6 Mar 2011

All eyes are on Prime Minister, Essam Sharaf's list of candidates given to the military council for approval of a new transitional government that would satisfy the demands of the people

Prime Minister Essam Sharaf
Prime Minister Essam Sharaf

Recently appointed Egyptian Prime Minister, Essam Sharaf, announces some of the names to be included in his new cabinet, still subject to confirmation by the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces. Members of the new cabinet are due to deliver their oaths of office before Field Marshal Mohamed Tantawi Monday.

Sharaf’s choices for ministers for the transitional Egyptian government:

Fayza Aboul Naga, Minister of International Cooperation
Atef Abdel Hamid, Minister of Transportation
Ibrahim Manaa, Minister of Civil Aviation
Fathy El-Baradei, Minister of Housing
Sayed Meshel, Minister of Military Industries
Samir Sayad, Minister of Industry and Internal Trade
Gouda Abdel Khalek, Minister of Social Solidarity
Mohsen Al-Noomany, Minister for National Development
Maged George, Minister of Environment
Ashraf Hatem, Minister of Health
Hassan Younis, Minister of Electricity
Mounir Fakhry Abdel Nour, Minister of Tourism
Emad Abou Ghazy, Minister of Culture
Ahmed El-Brens, Minister of Labour and Migration
Mansour El-Issawy, Minister of Interior
Hussein El-Atfy, Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation

Moreover, Sharaf met yesterday with other key people he’s considering, such as Yehia El-Gamal for deputy prime minister, Samir Radwan for minister of finance, Amr Ezzat Salama for minister of education and research and Ahmed Gamal El-Din Moussa for minister of education.

Sharaf is preparing to meet with Mohamed Abdallah El-Gendy for the ministry of justice and Abdallah El-Husseiny for the ministry of religious affairs and Nabil El-Arabi for the ministry of foreign affairs.

The list, if approved, would go into effect after a Wednesday military council meeting.

Short link: