Last Update 1:16
Tuesday, 13 April 2021

National Democratic Party expels 21 members

The once ruling National Democratic Party has moved to expel ministers and members indicted in corruption cases

Ahram Online, Saturday 12 Mar 2011
Views: 2975
Views: 2975

The general secretary of the erstwhile ruling National Democratic Party (NDP), Mohamed Ragab, has expelled 21 of the party’s members, including a number of businessmen and former ministers.

Businessman Ahmed Ezz, Mohamed Abuelenein, former Minister of Industry and Trade Rashid Mohamed Rashid, and former Minister of Interior Habib El-Adly are amongst those expelled.

Ragab has also called for a meeting to elect a new president of the party after the expulsion of former President Hosni Mubarak.

Others expelled include former Agricultural Minister Amin Abaza, former Housing Minister Ahmed El-Maghraby, businessman Hisham Talaat Mustafa, former Tourism Minister Mohamed Zuhair Garana, former Housing Minister Ibrahim Soliman, former Transport Minister Mohamed Mansour, former Oil Minister Sameh Fahmy, former Media Minister Anas El-Fiqi, head of the Radio and Television Unit Osama El-Sheikh, former Finance Minister Yousef Butrous Ghali, former head of industrial development Amr Assal, Shafiq Baghdady, Hamed El-Sheity, Amr Mansy, Motaaz Raslan, Yassin Mansour and Mohamed Fadly.

The ousted president's son and head of the policies committee, Gamal Mubarak turned in his resignation on Thursday, which Ragab accepted Saturday, along with other party members, Safwat El-Shereef, Mofid Shehab and Ali El-Din Helal.

The decision to expel and accept the resignations of the above came as part of a decision to “clean the party” of those who are currently facing corruption charges and who were part of the old and new guard of the ousted regime, according to Ragab.

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.