Last Update 14:16
Wednesday, 12 May 2021

Egyptian president appoints 18 new governors

Out of a total of 27 governorates, 18 have been given new managers and two have yet to have governors assigned

Ahram Online , Tuesday 13 Aug 2013
Egyptian president
Egypt's interim president Adly Mansour (Photo: AP)

Eighteen new governors were sworn in before Interim President Adly Mansour on Tuesday afternoon.

Eighteen out of the country's 27 governorates have been assigned new governors. The government has yet to settle on choices for two governorates, the Red Sea and Menoufiya, after the nominees for the posts reportedly declined.

Governorates that have seen new leaders include Cairo, Alexandria, Luxor and the Nile Delta towns.

The shake-up also entails the appointment of nine deputy governors.

Egypt's previous gubernatorial reshuffle took place in June, a few weeks before Islamist president Mohamed Morsi was forced out from power by Egypt's military following nationwide protests against his one-year rule.

Seven Islamists were appointed out of a total of 17 new governors.

The 25 governors now holding posts are:

·         Cairo: Galal Mostafa Mohamed Said

·         Giza: Ali Abdel Rahman Youssef

·         Alexandria: Tarek Mahdy Adel Tawab

·         South Sinai: Khaled Fouda Seddik

·         North Sinai: Abdel Fattah Salem Harhour

·         Marsa Matrouh: Badr Tantawy Badr Ghandour

·         New Valley: Mahmoud Mohamed Ahmed Khalifa

·         Port Said: Samah Mohamed Ahmed Qandil

·         Assiut: Ibrahem Hammad Mohamed Hammad

·         Kafr Al-Sheikh: Mohamed Ezzat Agwa

·         Beni Suef: Mohamed Magdi Al-Bateity

·         Luxor: Tarek Mohamed Saad

·         Daqahliya: Omar Mohamed Abdel Gawad

·         Gharbiya: Mohamed Mohamed Abdel Moniem

·         Qalioubiya: Mohamed Ahmed Abdel Qader

·         Damietta: Mohamed Abdel Latif Masnour

·         Ismailiya:Ahmed Bahaa Al-Din Al-Qassas

·         Aswan: Mostafa Yousery Al-Said

·         Suez: Al-Araby Ahmed Youssef

·         Minya: Salah Al-Din Ibrahim

·         Sohag: Mahmoud Mohamed Othman

·         Qena: Abdel Hamid Al-Haggan

·         Fayoum: Hazem Ahmed Attiya

·         Sharqiya: Saeed Abdel Aziz Ali

·        Beheira: Mostafa Kamal Abdel-Basit

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.