Updated: Curfew in 14 Egypt governorates amid state of emergency

Ahram Online, Wednesday 14 Aug 2013

A month-long curfew in 14 of 27 Egyptian governorates starts Wednesday — excludes journalists, says Cabinet media advisor

Egypt’s interim Cabinet declared a curfew lasting from 7pm until 6am in 14 governorates starting Wednesday. It will be in place for the entire month-long state of emergency that was imposed by the presidency earlier in the day.

On Wednesday only the curfew will start at 9pm.

The curfew is to be imposed in Cairo, Giza, Alexandria, Suez, Ismailia, Assiut, Sohag, Beni Suef, Minya, Beheira, South Sinai, North Sinai, Fayoum and Qena. The latter two governorates were added later in the day.

Those who do not abide by the curfew will be imprisoned, according to the Cabinet’s statement.

Exceptions to curfew rule include journalists and media personnel, according to the Cabinet's media consultant, whose work requires presence in the street.

Sherif Shawky, the prime minister's media consultant, told Al-Ahram’s Arabic site that the those who are traveling by planes will be also exempted.

Short link: