New Release: The complete plays of Salah Abdel Sabour

MENA, Monday 23 Jan 2012

Salah Abdel Sabour – a prominent figure in the Arabic modernism and free poetry movement – has his complete plays published in a new edition

Salah AbdelSabour

A new edition of the complete plays of Salah Abdel Sabour (1931 –1981) has been published by the General Egyptian Book Organisation (GEBO).

The writer and poet was one the pioneers of Arabic free poetry and a prominent figure in Arabic modernism movement.

The collection includes five plays were written between 1964 and 1974:

Ma’st Alhallaj (The Tragedy of Hallaj) written after two failed attempts to write poetic plays.

Mosaffer Leel (Night Traveler) his shortest and most absurd play.

Al-Amira Tantazer (The Princess Waits).

Laila wa Al-Magnoon (Laila and the Insane) his sharpest political play, written after the 1967 war with Israel, is a dramatic reflection on Egypt’s defeat and an examination of the relationship between intellectuals and the government.

Ba’ad Ann Yamout Al-Malek (After the King Dies) examines the unconscious mind.

Short link: