Last Update 16:36
Tuesday, 27 July 2021

Six Gulf states recognise new Syrian opposition bloc

AFP , Monday 12 Nov 2012

The Gulf Cooperation Council said Monday its six member states have decided to recognise the newly formed National Coalition of the Syrian opposition as the legitimate representative of the Syrian people.

"The states of the council announce recognising the National Coalition for the Forces of the Syrian Revolution and Opposition... as the legitimate representative of the brotherly Syrian people," GCC chief Abdullatif al-Zayani said in a statement.

The GCC comprises Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Qatar and Kuwait.

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.