Winners of 2016 US presidential contests, by state

AFP , Wednesday 4 May 2016

Here is a list of the US states and territories won by the five main Republican and Democratic presidential candidates in the 2016 White House nomination contests held since February 1:

Forty-four contests have been held to date, including the Indiana primary on Tuesday.

A total of 2,383 delegates are needed to secure the party's presidential nomination, including the so-called "super-delegates," who have the right to vote for whomever they choose at the nominating convention in July.

Former secretary of state Hillary Clinton has a commanding advantage over Senator Bernie Sanders on the super-delegate front.

Breakdown of delegates: 1,704 pledged after state races, plus 513 super-delegates

25 states and territories won:

Alabama; American Samoa; Arkansas; Arizona; Connecticut; Delaware, Florida; Georgia; Illinois; Iowa; Louisiana; Maryland; Massachusetts; Mississippi; Missouri; New York; Nevada; North Carolina; Northern Mariana Islands; Ohio; Pennsylvania; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Virginia.

Breakdown of delegates: 1,402 pledged after state races, plus 41 super-delegates

19 contests won:

Alaska; Colorado; Hawaii; Idaho; Indiana; Kansas; Maine; Michigan; Minnesota; Nebraska; New Hampshire; Oklahoma; Rhode Island; Utah; Vermont; Washington; Wisconsin; Wyoming and the contest involving US Democrats living abroad.

The GOP has held 41 contests. Six states and territories -- American Samoa, Colorado, Guam, North Dakota, Virgin Islands and Wyoming -- select their delegates without a primary preference vote, but through conventions or party meetings.

A total of 1,237 delegates are needed to secure the presidential nomination. The Republican Party does not use super-delegates, although a handful of "unbound" delegates head to the convention with the ability to vote for whomever they choose.

28states and territories won:

Alabama; Arizona; Arkansas; Connecticut; Delaware; Florida; Georgia; Hawaii; Illinois; Indiana; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maryland; Massachusetts; Michigan; Mississippi; Missouri; Nevada; New Hampshire; New York; North Carolina; Northern Mariana Islands; Pennsylvania; Rhode Island; South Carolina; Tennessee; Vermont; Virginia.

Nine states won:

Alaska; Idaho; Iowa; Kansas; Maine; Oklahoma; Texas; Utah; Wisconsin.

Cruz also won the delegate selections in Colorado and Wyoming.

1 state won:


Three states and territories won:

Minnesota; Puerto Rico; Washington, DC

Short link: