54 countries, excluding US, will be allowed to enter EU after borders open: Report

Ahram Online , Sunday 28 Jun 2020

The European travel ban has been in place since 17 March due to coronavirus

Arrivals at the Adolfo Suarez-Barajas airport in Madrid, Spain, on Sunday. European officials are devising a list of ‘safe’ countries to accept visitors from this summer AP
Diplomatic sources from the European Union (EU) told Euronews on Friday that 54 states are on a draft list of those whose nationals will be allowed to pass EU borders after they open. 
The draft list, which will be reviewed every two weeks, will not include the United States, Brazil, Qatar and Russia, EU sources said. 
The 54 countries include: Egypt, the Vatican City, Monaco, Montenegro, Andorra, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Albania, Turkey, Kosovo, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Turkmenistan, Vietnam, China, Thailand, Myanmar, Mongolia, Japan, South Korea, Georgia, Bhutan, Lebanon, Indonesia, Uzbekistan, India, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Palau, New Zealand, Australia, Dominica, the Bahamas, Saint Lucia, Uruguay, Jamaica, Cuba, Guyana, Paraguay, Venezuela, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Canada, Angola, Tunisia, Namibia, Uganda, Mozambique, Mauritius, Zambia, Rwanda, Ethiopia, Morocco and Algeria.
The sources pointed out that the EU is having an internal debate over the criteria used for this decision, for some member-states argue that "data about Covid rates is not reliable." 
They stated that the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) was contacted to provide more details on this issue. 
The European travel ban has been in place since 17 March due to coronavirus. 
The sources also questioned that borders will be reopened by 1 July, as recommended to EU member-states by the European Commission earlier this month.
Short link: