Nobel physics prize goes to 3 for climate discoveries

AP , Tuesday 5 Oct 2021

The Nobel Prize for physics has been awarded to scientists from Japan, Germany and Italy.

Nobel Prize Committee for Physics
Goran K. Hansson (C), Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, and members of the Nobel Committee for Physics Thors Hans Hansson (L) and John Wettlaufer (R) sit in front of a screen displaying the co-winners of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics (L-R) Syukuro Manabe (US-Japan), Klaus Hasselmann (Germany) and Giorgio Parisi (Italy) at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm, Sweden, on October 5, 2021. AFP

Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann were cited for their work in ``the physical modeling of Earth's climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming''.

The second half of the prize was awarded to Giorgio Parisi for ``the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.''

The winners were announced Tuesday by Goran Hansson, secretary-general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Search Keywords:
Short link: