Muslim Brotherhood lands 34 out of 52 seats in runoffs

Ahram Online, Wednesday 7 Dec 2011

Muslim Brotherhood's Freedom and Justice Party dominates run-offs in first round of Egypt's parliamentary election

parliamentary elections
An Egyptian man looks at a campaign banner in Arabic that reads, "The Freedom and Justice party," on the second day of parliamentary elections in Alexandria, Egypt (Photo: AP)

The Muslim Brotherhood’s Freedom and Justice Party (FJP) has continued its successful performance in parliamentary election run-offs, winning 34 individual seats.

The FJP-led alliance had 45 candidates competing for 52 run-off seats in the first phase of elections, which began on 28 November in nine governorates. There were originally 56 seats up for grabs but four were won without the need for a run-off. Two of these four seats went to the FJP, which means that the party has won a total of 36 seats so far. Four of the seats won by the FJP-led alliance went to parties other than the FJP itself (the FJP-led alliance, formerly called the Democratic Alliance, contains 11 parties).

The Salafist Al-Nour coalition won five seats, the Egyptian Bloc two, Al-Wafd one, Al-Adl one, National Party of Egypt one and Egyptian Citizen one. Three went to independents.

The leftist El-Badry Farghaly, who was running as an independent in Port Said, secured the workers’ seat with 118,657 votes. He was competing against Al-Nour's Ali Fouda, who received 90,169 votes.

Mustafa El-Naggar, a revolutionary youth activist and member of the liberal Al-Adl Party, won the professionals’ seat in Nasr City.

In Heliopolis, the independent Hisham Soliman won the workers’ seat, beating the FJP’s Khaled Hasan.

In Alexandria, the infamous Abdel Moneim El-Shahet, spokesperson for the Al-Nour Party, who had previously stated that democracy is kufr (heresy), lost the first constituency professionals’ seat to Hosny Duweidar, who ran as part of the FJP-led alliance.

In Alexandria’s second constituency, Judge Mahmoud El-Khodeiry won the professionals’ seat, beating Tarek Talaat Mustafa, a former member of Hosni Mubarak’s National Democratic Party, finally ending the Mustafa family’s three decade grip on the seat.

In the city’s third constituency, two FJP members scored parliamentary seats, with Mahmoud Attia taking the professionals’ seat and Saber Abu El-Fetouh taking the workers’ seat.

In Assiut’s second constituency, the FJP’s Mohamed Bakr won the professionals’ seat, beating Salah Ragab of the Nour Party. Additionally, the FJP’s Mohamed Moussa won the workers’ seat, beating the independent Mohamed Abdel Moneim.

In the third constituency, the FJP’s Abdel Aziz Khalaf took the professionals’ seat and the party’s Abdallah Sadq won the workers’ seat.

In the fourth constituency, the FJP’s Hasan Ali Abdel El-Aal took the professionals’ seat to beat the independent Amir Lamey. The workers’ seat was taken by Amer Abdel Raheem of El-Jamaa El-Islamiya after he beat Abdel Aziz Mohamed of the FJP.

In the southern city of Luxor, the FJP’s Abdel Mawgood Deridar Rageh landed the professionals’ seat and FJP’s Khaled Abdel Moneim Megahed took the workers’ seat.

In Damietta, the FJP, which went head to head with the Nour Party, won three seats. The FJP’s Ali El-Day beat the Nour Party’s Nagy Shata for the professionals’ seat. Additionally, FJP member Mohamed Abu Moussa won the workers’ seat over Sheikh Mohamed El-Taweel.

In Damietta's second constituency, the FJP’s Mohamed El-Falahgy won the professionals’ seat over the Salafist Waleed Samaha. Independent candidate Omran Megahed won the workers’ seat, beating Salafist Wael Nebha.


Estimated Seat Breakdown after Runoffs (Compiled by Jadaliyya Egypt editors)

List                                                Seats before Runoff            Runoff Gains*           Total

Freedom and Justice                                    46                                    36                        82 (49%)

Al-Nour                                                           28                                    5                         33 (20%)

Egyptian Bloc                                                16                                    2                          18 (11%)

Al-Wafd                                                          11                                    1                          12 (7%)

Revolution Continues                                     5                                     0                           5 (3%)

Al-Wasat                                                          4                                     0                          4

Reform and Development                              2                                     0                           2

National Party of Egypt                                   1                                      1                          2

Egyptian Citizen                                               1                                      1                          2

Freedom                                                          1                                      0                           1

Al-Adl                                                                0                                   1                             1

Independents                                                   1                                     3                             4

Total                                                                 116                                 50                       166

*Includes all but two races in Cairo’s district #1 (scheduled for a re-vote on January 10-11).

A note on seat distribution for party-list races: The seat distribution displayed in the tables below is not part of the official results released by the Higher Elections Commission. The editors computed the results using a largest remainder "hare" quota, though it should be noted that some observers believe that the exact method that Egyptian authorities will use to determine seat allocation in party-list races has not been thoroughly explained. Also the seat distribution below assumes that all parties will cross the legally-mandated threshold of 0.5 percent of the nationwide vote.

Short link: