Ahram Online, Tuesday 17 Jan 2012

Factbox on Ghana


Qualifying campaign: Playing against relatively weaker opponents, the Black Stars finished the qualifiers unbeaten, topping Group I with 16 points from five wins, one draw and no defeats.

History: Ghana are one of the most successful African teams, having won four CAN titles in 1963, 1965, 1978 and 1982. They are three titles behind the tournament’s record winners Egypt.

The Black Stars, who made 17 CAN appearances, finished the 2010 edition as the runners up after suffering a 1-0 defeat by Egypt in the final.

Ghana made two World Cup appearances in 2006 and 2010 editions, reaching the quarter finals two years ago to become one of only three African teams to do so.

Expectations: Ghana, who are deemed one of the favourites to lift CAN trophy, are highly likely to finish on top of their group which also includes Botswana, Mali and Guinea. They are seen as the best African performers now and despite missing Kevin-Prince Boateng, who retired from international football at the age of 24, and injured midfielder Michael Essien, they still have a very strong squad that combines experience and talent with the likes of Asamoah Gyan, Sulley Muntari, John Mensah and Andre Ayew.

FIFA ranking: 26 ( 2 in Africa)


Winners of four CAN titles in 1963, 1965, 1978 and 1982
Made 17 previous appearances in CAN
Made 2 World Cup appearances in 2006 and 2010
Qualified for round of 16 in 2006 World Cup
World Cup quarter-finalists in 2010

Coach: Goran Stevanovic (Serbia)

Key players: Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew, Kwadwo Asamoah.


Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Adam Kwarasey (Stromsgodset, Norway), Daniel Adjei (Liberty Professionals, Ghana), Ernest Sowah (Berekum Chelsea, Ghana)

Defenders: Samuel Inkoom (Dnipro, Ukraine), John Paintsil (Leicester City, England), Daniel Opare (Standard Liege, Belgium), Masawudu Alhassan (Genoa, Italy), Lee Addy (Dalian Aerbim, China), John Boye (Rennes, France), John Mensah (Lyon, France), Jonathan Mensah (Evian, France), Isaac Vorsah (Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Charles Takyi (St Pauli, Germany), Emmanuel Agyemang Badu (Udinese ,Italy), Derek Boateng (Dnipro, Ukraine), Anthony Annan (Vitesse Arnhem, Netherlands), Mohammed Abu (Stromsgodset, Norway), Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese, Italy), Sulley Muntari (Inter Milan, Italy), Andre Ayew (Marseille, France)

Strikers: Prince Tagoe (Bursaspor, Turkey), Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Jordan Ayew (Marseille, France)

Short link: