'When We're Born' named best of 2019 by Film Society

Eslam Omar , Tuesday 4 Feb 2020

Eight films competed for the 2019 awards of the Film Society, with 'When We're Born' and 'The Blue Elephant 2' dominating the awards

When We
A still photo form Egyptian film 'When We're Born'that won best film award by the Film Society

'When We're Born' won big as the Film Society in Cairo wrapped up the 46th edition of their annual festival, where eight films where screened, discussed and competed for the 2019 awards.

The jury, headed by critic Kamal Ramzi, included Osama Abdel-Fattah, professor of montage Rahma Montaser, critic Ola ElShafei, interior designer Fawzi Al-Awamri, director and scriptwriter Mohammed Abu Saif, critic Mohammed Al-Ruby, director of photography Mohamed Aser and director Hani Lasheen.

2019 Film Society Jury members

'When We're Born'

'When We're Born' has been named best film, with Tamer Ezzat named best director and the late Nadine Shams winning the best screenplay award. Salma Hassan was named best leading actress and Hanan Soliman won best supporting actress. Moreover, actress Oumayma El Sibai will receive the jury certificate of appreciation for her role in the film.

'The Blue Elephant 2'

Blue Elephant 2

Tarek Mostafa won the award for best makeup, Ahmed Abu El-Saad won for best sound design, and Nahed Nasrallah won for best costume design. Composer Hisham Nazih won for best score and Ahmed Hafez won for best editing.

'The Treasure 2', 'The Guest' and ‘Sons of Rizk 2'

The Guest

Actor Mohamed Saad was named best actor in a leading role for 'The Treasure 2,' while Maged El-Kadwani received special jury award for his role in the film 'The Guest'.

Bassem Samra received the award for best supporting actor for ‘Sons of Rizk 2.’

Ali Hussam won for best decor for 'The Guest,' while Ahmed Youssef was named best director of photography for 'Scarecrow.'

'Between Two Seas' won the best film poster award.

Director Hadi Al-Bagourihas was chosen by members of the association audience as best director for 'The Guest'.

During the event, two films were screened and discussed but did not win any awards: 'The Secret Men’s Club' directed by Khaled El-Halafawy and 'The Passage' by director Sherif Arafa.

Short link: