Luxor African Film Festival announces winners of 11th edition

Ati Metwaly , Friday 11 Mar 2022

The winners of the 11th Luxor African Film Festival (LAFF) were announced during the festival’s closing ceremony on 10 March.


Taking place between 4 and 10 March in Luxor, the festival screened over 45 films from 35 countries in its numerous competitive categories.

10 films were screened within the Long Narrative Competition.

The jury of this competition included director Moussa Touré (Senegal), director Yousry Nasrallah (Egypt), director Apolline Traoré (Burkina Faso), critic Kamal Ben Wanas (Tunisia) and actor Jimmy Jean-Louis (Haiti).

The winners are:
Best Film: Communion (Tunisia)
Jury Award: The Gravedigger’s Wife (Somalia)
Special Mention: L’accord (The Agreement) (Cameroon)

The Long Documentaries Competition included 11 titles, with five renowned filmmakers on its jury — director Katie Needy (Senegal), critic Phoebe Curry (Uganda), director of photography Mahmoud Abdel-Samie (Egypt), director Mohamed Seyam (Egypt), and director Peter Sedovia (Ghana).

The winners are:
Best Film: Faya Dayi (Ethiopia)
Jury Award: Morning Star (Madagascar)
Special Mention: The Last Shelter (Mali, South Africa)

The Short Films Competition screened 15 films. The jury consisted of director Khaled El-Haggar (Egypt), director Fatomato Coulibaly (Mali), critic Ahmed Shawqy (Egypt), director Daoud Wilad Al-Sayed (Morocco), and actress Ghalia Ben Ali (Tunisia).

The winners are:
Best Film: Tender Threads (Morocco)
Jury Award: Baby Blue (Senegal)
Special Mention: Sixteen Rounds (Uganda)

The festival also presented films in the Diaspora Competition, screening nine films to a jury consisting of director Rachid Mashharawi (Palestine), producer Doura Bouchoucha (Tunisia), and actor Ahmed Magdi (Egypt).

The winners are:
Best Film: As Far As I Can Walk (Serbia)
Special Mention: A Brighter Tomorrow (Algeria)

The festival also granted film The Gravedigger’s Wife (Somalia) the FIPRESCI Best Film Award while Egyptian film Batool received Best Film Award in the Women Issues Competition.


Celebrating African identity through filmmaking, the LAFF was launched in 2010 by the Independent Shabab Foundation (ISF) — a non-profit organisation registered at the Ministry of Social Solidarity.

Founded and chaired by scriptwriter Sayed Fouad, the festival’s board includes Mahmoud Hemida, the LAFF’s honourary president, and Azza El-Husseini, the LAFF’s co-founder and executive director.

In its 11th edition, LAFF chose Uganda as the country of honour and also honoured the late Senegalese director Djibril Diop Mambéty and Tunisian director, Férid Boughedir. The iconic Egyptian star Hussein Fahmy was granted the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Moreover, the festival honoured Egyptian singer and actress Hoda Sultan, actor Mahmoud Morsy and Moroccan director and producer Mohamed Ismail.

The LAFF paid tribute to Egyptian star Amr Saad and Burkinabe filmmaker Apolline Traoré.

The LAFF is organised by the ISF under the auspices of the Egyptian culture, tourism and foreign ministries with the National Bank of Egypt and other partners.

Short link: