Art Alert: Renowned Egyptian pianist Ramzi Yassa to perform with Cairo Opera Quartet

Ahram Online , Friday 4 Dec 2015

The evening will feature works by Handel and Brahms

Ramzi Yassa

Renowned Egyptian pianist Ramzi Yassa will perform with the Cairo Opera House Quartet for the first time on Monday 7 December in Cairo and Wednesdy 9 December in Alexandria.

The concert will include compositions by George Frideric Handel as well as Johannes Brahms' piano quintet in F minor, op. 34.

Among the Cairo Conservatory's first graduates following its inauguration in the 1950s, Ramzi Yassa became one of the most remarkable musicians of his generation.

He pursued his formal education at the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory and received an honorary certificate at the 1974 Tchaikovsky competition. Yassa was the first Arab pianist to record Beethoven's piano concertos, which he did with the Cairo Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of Ahmed El-Saedi. He relocated to Paris in the 1970s, where he resides to date.

Yassa's extensive performances the world over, in which he cooperated with renowned conductors in some of the most prestigious concert halls.

The Egyptian virtuoso currently teaches at Paris' École Normale and is a jury member of numerous international piano competitions held in Leeds (UK), Santander, Carlet, Kawai (Spain), Cagliari (Italy), Pretoria (South Africa), Missouri (US), among many others. He also organises master classes in various locations across the globe.

The Cairo Opera House Quartet's was founded in 1991 by violinist Osman El-Mahdy, the ensemble's first violin.

One of the most active classical music ensembles, the quartet has recently celebrated its silver anniversary.

El-Mahdy studied violin in Alexandria and then Cairo Conservatory, and chamber music at the Geneva Conservatoire. He was a member of the Orchestre de Chambre de Genève and the Orchestre de Chambre du Jura (1985-1989), then the Cairo Symphony Orchestra (1989-1993), and finally concertmaster of the Cairo Opera Orchestra (1994-2005).

The Cairo Opera House Quartet also includes Yasser Ghoneim on violin, Essam Abdel Hamid on viola and Mohamed Salah on cello.

Ghoneim and Abdel Hamid are also members of Awtar Quartet, one of Egypt's younger ensembles, formed in 2012.

Monday 7 December, 8pm
Cairo Opera House, small hall, Zamalek, Cairo

Wednesdy 9 December, 8pm
Alexandria Opera House (Sayed Darwish Theatre), 
22 Sharia Tariq al-Horreyya, Alexandria

For more arts and culture news and updates, follow Ahram Online Arts and Culture on Twitter at @AhramOnlineArts and on Facebook at Ahram Online: Arts & Culture

Short link: