Art Alert: Cairo Symphony Orchestra to mark the 125th anniversary of Tchaikovsky's death

Ahram Online , Friday 14 Sep 2018

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1 in G minor to be performed by the Cairo Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Ahmed El-Saedi

Conductor Ahmed El-Saidi

The Cairo Symphony Orchestra will mark the 125th anniversary of Tchaikovsky's death with a concert led by conductor Ahmed El-Saedi at the Main Hall on Saturday 15 September..

The first half of the evening will open with Alexander Borodin's Polovetsian Dances, before moving onto Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante for violin and viola; a performance organised in collaboration with the Italian Cultural Centre with Luca Marziali on violin and Anna Serova on the viola.

After a brief intermission, the orchestra will then perform Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1, Op. 13, also known as Winter Daydreams.

The concert will also include a performance by the Acapella Choir with the choir master Maya Gvineria. 


Saturday 15 September, 8pm

Cairo Opera House, Main Hall, Zamalek, Cairo 

For more arts and culture news and updates, follow Ahram Online Arts and Culture on Twitter at @AhramOnlineArts and on Facebook at Ahram Online: Arts & Culture

Short link: