A Symphonic concert with Mozart, and two great Romantics

Ahram Online, Tuesday 13 Mar 2012

On Saturday 17 March, Cairo Symphony Orchestra, with Swiss conductor Andreas Spörri, will perform works by Mozart, Tchaikovsky and Brahms

Tchaikovsky and Brahms

The programme of the Cairo Symphony Concert evening on Saturday, 17 March, will include Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Overture to a comic Singspiel, The Impresario, K. 486; Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Major, Op. 35 and Johannes Brahms' Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68.

The violin soloist of the evening is Yasser El-Serafi.

Andreas Spörri, a Swiss conductor, is already known to Egyptian audiences. During the 2007/2008 season, he was the Cairo Symphony's principal conductor and ever since he returns periodically to conduct various works.

Born in Alexandria, Yasser El-Serafi, Egyptian violinist, is the Cairo Symphony Orchestra's konzertmeister. Aside from his work with the orchestra, he frequently gives solo performances.

Saturday, 17 March, 8pm
Cairo Opera House,  Main Hall


Follow Arts & Culture updates on Twitter: @AhramOnlineArts and on our Facebook page: Ahram Online: Arts and Culture

Short link: