Egyptian oud player Mohamed Abozekry's sextet to take stage at Cairo Opera House

Ahram Online , Monday 24 Jan 2022

Mohamed Abozekry's sextet will perform the latest compositions by the oud player and the ensemble's founder at the small hall of the Cairo Opera House.

Mohamed Abozekry
Oud player Mohamed Abozekry (Photo: Mohamed Abozekry Facebook page)

Composer and oud player Abozekry's compositions are a unique fusion of jazz and Oriental tunes.

While performing on oud in his upcoming performance, he will be joined on stage by George Nabil (piano), Karim Hossam (bass guitar), Mostafa Kerdani (drums), Ahmed Ali (percussions), Amr Waguih (saxophone) and Nazli Reda (vocals).

Abozekry completed his studies in oud at the Beit El-Oud (House of Oud) in Cairo, at the age of 15. While pursuing further development at the Lyon Academy in France, where he obtained his BA in musicology and MA is composition for films, he began creating his own music. His works have been featured in a number of television series as well as in French productions.

In the mid-2010s, he launched a project called Karkadé, in which he explores popular and classical music traditions, Sufi calls, and secular poetry.

"With Karkadé, Abozekry evokes the hibiscus tea found everywhere in Cairo, and the eponymous French café in which this project was born. Mixing together styles and traditions, Abozekry creates a beautiful musical language, describing a path to an Arab world at peace with its history and turned towards the future," reads the project's brief.

The project has toured the world. It was also featured in season four of the Center Stage initiative (2018), which focused on a tour through many cities in the USA. The same tour also presented Egyptian musicians Dina El-Wedidi and Youssra El-Hawary.

In his upcoming concert at the Cairo Opera House, Abozekry will present his latest compositions, setting them in a sextet of young remarkable Egyptian musicians. 

Thursday 3 February, 8pm
Cairo Opera House small hall, Zamalek

Search Keywords:
Short link: