Preview: Wrestler Kesho starts Olympics campaign, diver Mohab plays 3m springboard semis

Ahram Online , Monday 2 Aug 2021

The 23-year-old qualified for the Olympics after ending fifth in the 2019 World championship, just one year after clinching the U23 World Championship.

Mohab
Egypt s Mohab Ishak competes in the preliminary round of the men s 3m springboard diving event during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at the Tokyo Aquatics Centre in Tokyo on August 2, 2021. AFP

The Egyptian delegation in Tokyo will have a busy day on Tuesday that will see the first appearance of wrestler Mohamed 'Kesho' Ibrahim El-Sayed, while diver Mohab Zeyada will resume his campaign in the 3m springboard event and Egypt will face Germany in an anticipated handball game.

'Kesho,' who will appear in the 67kg Greco-Roman event, is a medal contender, as the Egyptian Olympic committee has tipped him among the favourites for winning a medal.

The 23-year-old qualified for the Olympics after ending fifth in the 2019 World championship, just one year after clinching the U23 World Championship.

The champion hopes to have an easy draw in the early stages in order to realise his dream.

Kesho will start his mission at 05:00 Cairo local time (03:00 GMT).

At the same time, wrestler Mohamed Metwally will have a tough clash against European championship silver medallist Kiryl Maskevich of Belarus in the greco-roman 87kg event.   

Diver Mohab El-Kordi is set to continue his successful campaign at the Olympics when he plays the springboard semis. He collected 422.75 points in the preliminary round on Monday, which put him in 12th place out of 18 divers, with the first 12 to advance to the finals.

El-Kordi will start his mission in the semis at 03:00 Cairo time (01:00 GMT).

In the equestrian event, trio Abdel-Kader Said, Mouda Zeyada and Nayel Nassar will start the qualifying round of the Jumping Individual Men event at 12:00 Cairo time (10:00 GMT).

Fifteen minutes later, duo Mohamed Magdi Hamza and Mostafa Amr Hassan will appear in the qualifying round of the shot-put event.

In synchronized swimming, Egypt’s duet team (Laila Mohsen and Hana Heika) will perform in the preliminary round of the duets’ free routine event at 12:30 Cairo time (10:30 GMT).

Finally, the Egyptian handball team will participate in the anticipated clash against Germany at 13:45 Cairo time (11:45 GMT), where the Pharaohs are looking for a historic last four berth.

Check Team Egypt squad

Check Team Egypt schedule and results 

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Search Keywords:
Short link: