Last Update 11:36
Saturday, 25 September 2021

Real Madrid's Ronaldo, Chelsea's Mourinho awarded Portugal prize

Ronlado awarded best Portuguese player of the century, Mourinho named best coach

Mahmoud Elassal , Thursday 15 Jan 2015
Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal
Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal poses with the trophy after winning the FIFA Men's soccer player of the year 2014 prize at the FIFA Ballon d'Or awarding ceremony at the Kongresshaus in Zurich, Switzerland, Monday, Jan.12, 2015 (Photo: AP)

A few days after winning FIFA's Ballon d'Or, Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the best Portuguese player of the century during the Portuguese Football Federation’s (FPF) 100th anniversary celebration.

Ronaldo won the FIFA Ballon d'Or award for 2014 on Monday, earning the title of world's best football player for a third time after scoring 61 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal last year. His record tally of 17 goals in a Champions League season helped his club win an unprecedented 10th European Cup title - and overshadowed a relatively disappointing World Cup campaign.

The 29-year-old managed to beat the two greatest Portuguese footballers of all time, Figo and Eusebio, and won the best Portuguese player of the century title during a ceremony attended by FIFA's president, Joseph Blatter, and UEFA president Michel Blatter.

The Real Madrid star didn't attend the ceremony due to the Copa del Rey game against Atletico on Thursday. The winner was decided by fans who voted online through the FPF's official website.

The former Manchester United striker, Ronaldo is the third Portuguese footballer to win the Ballon d'Or after Eusebio (1965) and Luis Figo (2000), and the first Portuguese player to win FIFA’s award three times. He is also the first Portuguese player to play and score in three World Cup tournaments.

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho was also named as the Portuguese coach of the century during the ceremony.

The FIFA World Coach of the Year in 2010, Mourinho has achieved many trophies during his managerial career at Benfica, Porto, Inter Milan, Chelsea and Real Madrid. He led his club to win its domestic league seven times, the UEFA Champions League twice and the UEFA Cup once. 

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)


Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.