Last Update 21:21
Tuesday, 20 April 2021

Barca’s Guardiola wins coach of the year award

Barcelona's Pep Guardiola was on Friday named coach of the year for 2011 by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS)

AFP, Friday 6 Jan 2012
Pep Guardiola
Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola
Views: 2811
Views: 2811

Guardiola, who won the league, the Champions League and the FIFA Club World Cup with Barca last year, previously won the award in 2009.

The former Spain midfielder finished above Real Madrid coach Jose Mourinho—the winner in 2010—and Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson in a poll reflecting the opinions of experts from 81 different countries.

Speaking to the press on Friday, Mourinho said that Guardiola's success was "fully deserved".

The IFFHS, which is based in Germany, has been issuing the award since 1996.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports ‎on Twitter: @AO_Sports).


Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.