Last Update 9:35
Monday, 10 May 2021

VIDEO: Ahly's 8 African Champions League titles

Ahram Online provides a compiled story of the eight titles Ahly claimed to become Africa's most decorated club

Ahram Online, Sunday 10 Nov 2013
File photo: Egypt's Ahly Players celebrate winning their African Champions League (CAF) after their final soccer match against Tunisia's Esperance Sportive de Tunis at the Rades stadium in Tunis (Photo: Reuters)
Views: 2354
Views: 2354

2013: Ahly 3-1 agg. Orlando Pirates (South Africa)

Ahly extended their record to eight titles, overcoming South African champions Orlando Pirates. Playing in their 10th final, the Red Devils made the most of their experience against their oponents who dreamt of their second title after a sole victory in 1995. The Egyptian champions were denied an away win when Thabo Matleba scored deep in injury time to cancel Mohamed Abou-Treika's early lead. Playing in Cairo for the first time this year, Ahly sealed the trophy with a 2-0 victory thanks to goals from Abou-Treika and Ahmed Abdel-Zaher.

2012: Ahly 3-2 agg. Esperance (Tunisia)

One of the most unlikely triumphs saw Ahly defy the odds to win a seventh title. The Red Devils were going through hard circumstances due to the suspension of domestic competitions in Egypt following the Port Said disaster in February 2012 that left more than 70 dead and hundreds injured. In the first leg in Cairo, Ahly striker El-Sayed Hamdi scored late in the game to cancel out Walid El-Hechri’s first half lead and give the hosts a lifeline. Ahly produced one of their finest ever performances in the second leg, outclassing  Esperance with a 2-1 victory courtesy of strikes from Mohamed Nagy “Gedo” and Walid Soliman to win the title in Tunisia.

2008: Ahly 4-2 agg. Coton Sport (Cameroon)

Playing their fourth consecutive final (2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008) to equal TP Mazembe record, Ahly had an easy ride at home, beating the Cameroonian debutants 2-0. Defender Wael Gomaa and Angolan striker Flavio Amado sealed the victory at a packed Cairo stadium. Two weeks later, the Egyptian giants clinched the trophy in Garoua after a 2-2 draw. Ahmed Hassan and Shady Mohamed scored for Ahly while Lassina Abdoul-Karim and Ousmaila Baba were on target for the hosts.

2006: Ahly 2-1 agg. Sfaxien (Tunisia)

It is probably the most remarkable of all Ahly’s titles. The Red Devils were held to a 1-1 draw at home. Joetex Frimpong put Sfaxien in the driving seat after cancelling out Mohamed Abou-Treika’s goal. In the return leg in Sfax, the hosts were already partying when talisman Abou-Treika fired a 25-yard left-foot rocket that went into the bottom right hand side of the keeper two minutes into injury time. The 1-0 victory meant Ahly equaled Zamalek’s record of five African Champions League titles and that they would go to the World Club Cup, where they claimed the bronze medal.

2005: Ahly 3-0 agg. Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)

Ahly were the dominant force in Egyptian and African football with their newly-formed golden generation that included the likes of Mohamed Abou-Treika, Mohamed Barakat, Mohamed Shawky, Emad Meteb and Hassan Mostafa. After a scoreless draw in Sousse, Manuel Jose’s men crushed their Tunisian visitors 3-0 at home courtesy of goals from Abou-Treika, Ossama Hosni and Barakat.

2001: Ahly 4-1 agg. Sundowns (South Africa)

Khaled Bibo was the hero of that final. The gifted forward scored a hat-trick in the final in Cairo 3-0 to seal a 4-1 aggregate win. Ahly managed to secure a 1-1 first-leg draw in South Africa as Sayed Abdel-Hafiz scored the equalizer after Gift Kampamba put the hosts in front. It was Ahly’s first African Champions League title in 14 years.

1987: Ahly 2-0 agg. Al-Hilal (Sudan)

After a scoreless draw in Sudan, Ahly accomplished their mission back in Cairo. Gamal Thaalab scored an own goal and Egyptian striker Ayman Shawky added the second to give Ahly their second African Champions Cup title. The match also marked the farewell of Egypt and Ahly icon Mahmoud Al-Khateeb, who was given a rousing send-off by the crowd who packed Cairo's International Stadium.

1982: Ahly 4-1 agg. Asante Kotoko (Ghana)

Playing in their first African final, Ahly were facing previous champions Asante Kotoko who were terrifying in the 70s. The Egyptian champions secured a comprehensive 3-0 home victory in Cairo courtesy of a brace from gifted forward Mahmoud Al-Khateeb and a goal from Alaa Mayhoub. Going to Kumasi in the return leg, Ahly claimed a 1-1 draw after Al-Khateeb cancelled out John Bannerman's early lead to savor their first taste of African glory.

Ahly's Champions League triumphs

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Search Keywords:
Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.