Last Update 22:2
Monday, 02 August 2021

Egypt announce squad for Nigeria matches in African Cup of Nations qualifiers

Basem Morsi, Mahmoud Kahraba, Ahmed Fathi, and Moamen Zakaria are the prominent absentees from the Egypt squad for Nigeria matches

Ahmed Abd El Rasoul , Wednesday 16 Mar 2016
Egypt's Mohamed Salah (L) fights for the ball with Kufigwa Khumoetsile of Botswana (Reuters)

Egypt’s coach Hector Cuper has announced a 25-man squad on Wednesday for the Pharaohs' crucial games against Nigeria in the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The winners of three successive Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in 2006, 2008, and 2010 will face Nigeria on 25 March in the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers before playing the follow-up match four days later in Borg El-Arab Stadium in Alexandria.

According to the list announced on the Egyptian Football Association (EFA) official website, nine players from Egyptian league champions Zamalek and seven from rivals Ahly were called for the two matches.

Zamalek duo striker Basem Morsi and winger Mahmoud Kahraba were the prominent absentees, alongside right winger Ahmed Fathi and midfielder Moamen Zakaria from Ahly.

Earlier on Monday, Cuper has called up five foreign-based players for the important confrontation, including Roma winger Mohamed Salah, Arsenal midfielder Mohamed Elneny.

Egypt are leading group G with six points, two ahead of second-placed Nigeria as the only group winners guaranteed automatic qualification for the 2017 Cup of Nations.

The Egyptian team full squad:

Goalkeeprs: Essam El-Hadary (Wadi Degla), Ahemd El-Shenawy (Zamalek), Mohamed El-Shenawy (Petrojet)

Defenders: Omar Gaber, Hazem Emam, Ahmed Dewidar, Ali Gabr, Hamada Tolba (Zamalek)- Ahmed Hegazy, Sabry Rahil, Ramy Rabia (Ahly)

Midfielders: Hossam Ghaly, Ramadan Sobhy, Abdallah El-Said (Ahly)- Mostafa Fathi, Ayman Hefni, Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Ibrahim Salah (Smouha), Mahmoud 'Trezeguet' Hassan (Anderlecht), Amr Warda (Panetolikos FC), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal)

Strikers: Mohamed Salah (Roma), Ahmed Hassan Kouka (Braga), Amr Gamal (Ahly), Marawan Mohsen (Ismaily)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.