Egypt announce squad for Nigeria, Angola and Iraq friendlies

Eslam Omar, Sunday 8 Apr 2012

Pharaohs to head to UAE Tuesday for closed camp amid preparations for continental competitions

Egypt's soccer team players (Photo: Reuters)

Egypt's national team technical staff under the helm of American manager Bob Bradley announced the Pharaohs' squad on Sunday evening for an upcoming UAE training camp.

"Bradley decided to name the squad today instead of tomorrow to allow selected players to prepare themselves for travelling," goalkeeping coach Zaki Abdel-Fattah told Ahram Online Sunday.

The former United States coach will be watching Ahly and Zamalek in their round 32 of CAF Champions League matches against Ethiopian Coffee and Ivory Coast’s Africa Sports.

"The Zamalek delegation will arrive tomorrow so we wanted to give them enough notice," Abdel-Fattah added.

The winners of seven African Cup of Nations (CAN) titles will head to the Emirates Tuesday to play three friendly games against Nigeria, Angola and Iraq on 12, 14 and 17 April, respectively, before returning to Egypt. The Pharaohs are currently preparing for 2014 World Cup qualifiers and the 2013 edition of the CAN.

Bradley didn’t say whether he planned to use elements from Egypt's Under-23 team under coach Hany Ramzy, who are currently taking part in preparations for the international competitions and training for the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

The Squad:

Goalkeepers: Essam El-Hadary (Ittihad of Alexandria), Sherif Ekrami (Ahly) and Abdel-Wahed El-Sayed (Zamalek)

Defenders:  Mahmud Fathallah (Zamalek), Ahmed Said Uka (Haras El-Hodoud), Mohamed Naguib (Ahly), Ahmed Dwidar (Ittihad El-Shorta), Mohamed Nassif (ENPPI) and Hossam Ghaly (Ahly)

Midfielders: Mohamed Abdel-Shafi (Zamalek), Ahmed Khairy (Ismaily), Hossam Ashour (Ahly), Ibrahim Salah (Zamalek), Bassem Ali (Arab Contractors), Ashour El-Taqi (Wadi Degla), Mohamed ‘Geddo’ Nagi (Ahly), Ahmed Hassan (Zamalek), Mohamed Abou-Treika (Ahly) and Walid Soliman (Ahly)

Strikers: Emad Meteb (Ahly), Ahmed Hassan Mekky (Haras El-Hodoud), Ahmed Temsah (Dakheliya), Ahmed Abdel-Zaher (ENPPI) and Amr Zaki (Zamalek)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter:@AO Sports)

Short link: