Egypt's coach Galal announces final squad for AFCON qualifiers, waits on Ahly players

Mahmoud Elassal , Monday 30 May 2022

Egypt's new coach Ehab Galal announced the final squad for the Pharaohs’ two opening African Cup of Nations qualifiers against Guinea and Ethiopia, awaiting Ahly players who are facing Morocco's Wydad in the final game of the CAF Champions League on Monday.

Egypt s coach Galal
File Photo: Egypt s coach Ehab Galal . Al- Ahram


“Galal announced Egypt national team squad for the training camp that starts on 30 May through 14 June in the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers,” read a statement by the Egyptian Football Association (EFA) on Monday.

“Egypt coach preferred not to announce the names of Ahly players who will join the camp due to their participation in the CAF Champions League final,” the statement added.

Ahly are seeking to become the first team to win a hat-trick of straight African Champions League crowns when they face Morocco’s Wydad in the prestigious tournament final game on Monday at the Mohammed V Stadium in Casablanca.

The Pharaohs will start their Group D campaign African Cup of Nations qualifiers - set for Cote d'Ivoire in June 2023 - at home with Guinea on 5 June and away with Ethiopia four days later.

The 54-year-old Galal, who took over the national team following the departure of Portuguese Carlos Queiroz last month, named a handful of rookie players in a preliminary 44-man squad last week, including domestic and foreign based-players before excluding a number of them in the final squad.

Egypt’s 21-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Mohamed Abou-Gabal (Zamalek), Mohamed Sobhi (Pharco FC), Mahmoud Gad (Enppi)

Defenders: Omar Gaber (Pyramids FC), Omar Kamal (Future FC), Mahmoud Alaa, Mahmoud Hamdi El-Wench, Ahmed Fattouh (Zamalek), Ahmed Hegazi (Ittihad Jeddah - Saudi Arabia)

Midfielders: Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal - England), Mohanad Lashin (Talae El-Geish), Emam Ashour (Zamalek), Ahmed Hamdy (CF Montreal - Canada)

Strikers: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool - England), Ahmed ‘Zizo’ Sayed (Zamalek), Mahmoud ‘Trezeguet’ Hassan (Basaksehir - Turkey), Omar Marmoush (Stuttgart - Germany), Mostafa Mohamed (Galatasaray - Turkey), Mohamed Ibrahim (Ceramica Cleopatra), Ibrahim Adel (Pyramids FC), Ahmed Atef (Future FC).

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: