Egypt reveal final squad for 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Sierra Leone and Djibouti

Mahmoud Elassal , Thursday 9 Nov 2023

Egypt's national team coach Rui Vitoria has announced the final squad for the upcoming 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Sierra Leone and Djibouti.

File Photo: Egypt s midfielder Amr el-Solia (3rd-R) heads the ball to score an own goal during the FIFA Arab Cup 2021 semi-final football match between Tunisia and Egypt at the 974 stadium in the Qatari capital of Doha on December 15, 2021. AFP


The Pharaohs, placed in Group A for the qualifiers, will face tough competition from Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, Ethiopia, and Djibouti.

Fine-tuning their strategy for the qualifiers, Egypt will battle Djibouti on 16 November, followed by a match against Sierra Leone on 19 November.

Vitoria's squad features the return of Mohamed Sherif, the striker from Khaleej FC, and the inclusion of Zamalek's duo Ahmed Fattouh and goalkeeper Mohamed Sobhi, who were previously suspended by their club management.

With hopes of securing their fourth appearance in the tournament, the Pharaohs are determined to clinch their spot through stellar performances in the qualifiers.

Under the guidance of Vitoria, Egypt has already secured a place in the 2023 AFCON, scheduled to take place in Cote d'Ivoire in January 2024.

Egypt’s 25-man squad for Sierra Leone and Djibouti:

Goalkeepers: Mohamed El-Shennawy (Ahly), Mohamed Sobhi (Zamalek), and Ahmed El-Shennawy (Pyramids FC).

Defenders: Mohamed Hany, Mohamed Abdelmonem, and Rami Rabia (Ahly); Omar Kamal (Future FC); Mohamed Hamdy, Ali Gabr, and Ahmed Sami (Pyramids FC); Ahmed Fattouh (Zamalek).

Midfielders: Tarek Hamed (Ittihad Jeddah – Saudi Arabia), Marwan Attia (Ahly), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal – England), Hamdi Fathi (Al-Wakrah SC – Qatar), Mahmoud Hamada (Pharco FC), Emam Ashour (Ahly), and Ahmed “Zizo” Sayed (Zamalek).

Strikers: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool – England), Mostafa Fathi (Pyramids FC), Omar Marmoush (Eintracht Frankfurt – Germany), Mahmoud “Trezeguet” Hassan (Trabzonspor – Turkey), Mostafa Mohamed (FC Nantes – France), Hussein El-Shahat (Ahly), and Mohamed Sherif (Khaleej FC – Saudi Arabia).

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: