Relive: Draw of 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers

Eslam Omar, Sunday 27 Apr 2014

Ahram Online provided live coverage of the 2015 Africa Cup of Nation qualifiers

 the Africa Cup of Nations, Morocco 2015
The Africa Cup of Nations, Morocco 2015 logo

15: 30 The Draw:

Group A: Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan, Winner of Match 37/38

Group B: Mali, Algeria, Ethiopia, Winner of Match 43/44

Group C: Burkina Faso, Angola, Gabon, Winner of Match 33/34

Group D: Ivory Coast, Cameroon, DR Congo, Winner Match 41/42

Group E: Ghana, Togo, Guinea, Winner Match 35/36

Group F: Zambia, Cape Verde, Niger, Winner Match 45/46

Group G: Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Winner Match 39/40



15: 15 Egypt's most successful coach Hassan Shehata pulls the draw.

15: 10 Second round draw:

Match 5 & 6 Liberia vs Lesotho
Match 7 & 8 Kenya vs Comoros
Match 9 & 10 Madagascar vs Uganda
Match 11 & 12 Mauritania vs Equatorial Guinea
Match 13 & 14Namibia vs Congo
Match 15 & 16 Libya vs Rwanda
Match 17 & 18 Burundi vs Botswana
Match 19 & 20 Central African Republic vs Guinea Bissau
Match 21 & 22 Swaziland vs Sierra Leone
Match 23 & 24 Gambia vs Seychelles
Match 25 & 26 Sao Tome e Principe vs Benin
Match 27 & 28 Malawi vs Chad
Match 29 & 30 Tanzania vs Zimbabwe
Match 31 & 31 Mozambique vs South Sudan

First leg to be held 16,17 or 18 May 2014 while the the second leg 30,31 May or 1 June 2014.



14:40 The draw is underway


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) is holding the draw of the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers on Sunday at its headquarters in Cairo.

Stay tuned as the ceremony is due to start at 14:30 CLT (GMT +2).

The tournament will be held from 17 January to 8 February in 2015 in Morocco. The opening Ceremony will be in Marrakech.

The qualifiers' draw will be made up of seven groups with four teams each. Home and away fixtures will take place. 

Nine of the 28 teams will qualify for the Nations Cup: The group winners and runner-ups, along with the best third-placed side. The host team, Morocco, will automatically qualify.

Egypt are in pot 2 along with Algeria, Angola, Cap Verde, Togo, South Africa and Cameroon, who can't be drawn with the Pharaohs in the same group.

Egypt are the record winners of the Nations Cup with seven titles under their belt, which they won in 1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008 and 2010.


Pot 1: Nigeria, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire, Zambia, Burkina Faso, Mali, Tunisia

Pot 2: Algeria, Angola, Cap Verde, Togo, Egypt, South Africa, Cameroun

Pot 3: RD Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Niger, Guinea, Senegal, Sudan

Pot 4: The Seven yet to be decided by the preliminary round matches as 28 teams are competing; and classified into two levels;

Level 1: Libya, Equatorial Guinea, Botswana, Malawi, Uganda, Mozambique, Benin, Sierra Leone, Congo, Central Africa Republic, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Liberia and Gambia will be in Pot A.

Level 2: Rwanda, Tanzania, Namibia, Burundi, Lesotho, Guinea Bissau, Madagascar, Chad, Sao Tome, Seychelles, Comoros, Swaziland, South Sudan and Mauritania will be in Pot B.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: