Liverpool's Egyptian winger Salah shortlisted for PFA Player of the Year prize

Ahmed Abd El Rasoul , Saturday 14 Apr 2018

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah celebrates scoring their first goal (Photo: Reuters)

Liverpool’s in-form Egyptian winger Mohamed Salah has been included on the six-man shortlist for the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Player of the Year award.

The Pharaohs star will be competing for the title alongside Kevin de Bruyne, Leroy Sane, David Silva (Manchester City), David de Gea (Manchester United) and Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur).

According to Liverpool's official website, the prestigious accolade is voted on by PFA members from the 92 Premier League and Football League teams.

Salah, who recently guided the Reds to the Champions League semi-finals after eliminating Manchester City, has been honored for his brilliant run in March with the EA Sports Player of the Month award on Friday.

The 25-year-old is the first player in Premier League history to win the award three times within the same season, having added to his November and February accolades.

Salah, who joined Liverpool last summer from Serie A side Roma, has taken the Premier League by storm this season, scoring 29 goals to take his overall tally to 39 goals in 44 appearances on all fronts.

The former Chelsea and Fiorentina player is currently the Premier League's top scorer, four goals ahead of second-placed Harry Kane.

A quick look to Salah's competitors

Harry Kane is Tottenham's leading scorer with 24 goals, while Kevin de Bruyne, who scored seven goals and made 15 assists, has played an instrumental role in guiding City to leading the Premiere league table and to winning the League Cup title.

Manchester United’s keeper De Gea has kept more clean sheets than any other Premier League goalkeeper this season (16 clean sheets), while Manchester City duo Sane and Silva have 12 and 11 assists respectively in the Premier League.

The PFA’s Player of the Year will be announced on 22 April during a special awards ceremony in London.

The last Liverpool player to take the title was Luis Suarez in 2013-14.

Chelsea's French midfielder N'Golo Kante was the last player to win the Player of the Year award in 2017.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: