Egypt's Mohamed Salah named in PFA Team of the Year

Ahram Online , Wednesday 18 Apr 2018

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah (Reuters)

Egyptian record-breaking winger Mohamed Salah has been named in the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Premier League Team of the Year for 2018 for his thrilling season at Liverpool.

Salah has been named in the frontline of the season squad alongside with Tottenham Hotspur's Harry Kane and Manchester City's Sergio Aguero; the trio are currently competing for the Golden Boot - the accolade awarded each season to the Premier League's top scorer.

The 25-year-old player, who was named as the PFA Player of the Month, has been shortlisted earlier for the Player of the Year award competing with Kevin de Bruyne, Leroy Sane, David Silva (Manchester City), David de Gea (Manchester United) and Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur).

The young Pharaoh is playing the best season ever played by an Egyptian player abroad, scoring 40 goals, with 30 in the Premier League.

The PFA Team of the Year is voted for by every player from the 20 clubs in the Premier League.

The PFA Team of the Year (4-3-3) was announced as follows:

David De Gea (Manchester United); Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), Marcos Alonso (Chelsea); David Silva (Manchester City), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Christian Eriksen (Tottenham Hotspur); Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Sergio Agüero (Manchester City).

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: