Last Update 20:41
Friday, 23 July 2021

Liverpool's Salah among FIFA's nominees for 2020 best footballers

This will be Salah’s third time to enter The Best’s top ten list in the last three years

Mahmoud Sheleib , Wednesday 25 Nov 2020
Mohamed Salah
FILE PHOTO: Soccer Football - Premier League - Liverpool v West Ham United - Anfield, Liverpool, Britain - October 31, 2020 Liverpool's Mohamed Salah celebrates scoring their first goal (Reuters)

Liverpool Egyptian winger Mohamed Salah was named in FIFA’s list among the nominees for The 2020 Best Award, alongside Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

The Best FIFA Football Awards annually honor the most outstanding members of the world’s most popular sport.

This will be Salah’s third time to enter The Best’s top ten list in the last three years, after he came in third in 2018 behind Luca Modric and Ronaldo, and fourth in 2019 behind Messi, Virgil van Dijk and Ronaldo.

The 28-year-old Egyptian shined in the last few years once he joined Liverpool where he helped the team to achieve two long awaited trophies for the club; the UEFA Champions League and the Premier League.

He  also led his national team to the World Cup after a 28-year absence.

FIFA decided to cancel the current year awards scheduled for May, due to the spread of the coronavirus and the suspension of the football competitions all over the world, before announcing on 20 November that The Best Awards will be announced on 17 December in a virtual ceremony.

The 2020 Best FIFA Football Awards list for the best male footballer include:

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)

Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)

Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.